This is the "Home" page of the "Eighteenth Century Europe " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Eighteenth Century Europe  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/18theurope Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Encyclopedias

      • Credo Reference
        A collection of several 100 reputable encyclopedias. Available by library subscription.
      • Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
        Trexler Library 306.09403 E56o
        Signed articles. Invited authors.
      • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
        Trexler Library Reference 940.253 E56o
        Signed articles. Invited authors.
      • Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
        Trexler Library Reference 940.203 D515e
        Signed articles. Invited authors.
      • Wikipedia
        Unsigned articles. Seek corroboration.

      Books (secondary and primary materials)

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Good for previewing current titles. Also a rich sourcel for full-text of early (primary) texts.

      Periodical articles (popular and scholarly)

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • Google Scholar
        A free resource. Use with caution, as not all resources are in fact scholarly.
      • JSTOR
        Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
      • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
        A subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.

      Search engines

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.

      Primary sources

      • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
        Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Content covers critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Primarily in English but also includes other languages.

      Style guides

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources in the Chicago style, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources. For a more complete guide to the Chicago style, visit Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Here is a user guide.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip