Last Updated: Nov 3, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text button found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Library subscription. Several hundred online encyclopedias by reputable publishers. Good for topic-finding, narrowing, and bibliographies.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Good for primary documents pre-1923 that are out of copyright.
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
- Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
- Google Scholar
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
- New York Times Archive 1857-1922 via Proquest
- New York Times Archive 1923-2013 via Proquest
- Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.