This is the "Home" page of the "Abnormal Psychology (Tjeltveit)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Abnormal Psychology (Tjeltveit)  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/abnormalpsychology2 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS, HANDBOOKS, and DICTIONARIES

Annual review of psychology. (1950- ). Stanford, CA: Annual Reviews.
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access
Note: Print also available for 1950-2009 at Main Collection (Ref.) 150.5 A615

Credo reference
Access to hundreds of reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more--all online, all searchable from one search box.
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

DIAGNOSTIC CRITERIA

DSM-IV-TR
American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). Washington, DC: Author.
Location: Ready Reference 616.89 A512d4 2000

DSM-IV Sourcebook
Widiger, T.A., et. al. (Ed.). (1994-1998). DSM-IV sourcebook (1st ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 616.89075 A512d4 Suppl. v.1-4

DSM-5
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Arlington, VA: Author.
Location: Ready Reference 616.89 A512d5  

ICD-10
World Health Organization. (2010). International classification of disease (10th ed., 2015 revision). Retrieved from http://apps.who.int/classifications/icd10/browse/2015/en

ICD-11 Beta
World Health Organization. (2015). International classification of disease (11th ed., beta draft). Rerieved from http://apps.who.int/classifications/icd11/browse/f/en

PDM
Alliance of Psychoanalytic Organizations (Ed.). (2006). Psychodynamic diagnostic manual. Silver Spring, MD: Interdisciplinary Council on Development and Learning Disorders.
Location: Ready Reference 616.89 P974d

SELECTED WEBSITES

American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org

MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine / National Institutes of Health)
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

National Institute of Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov

      

    Finding Scholarly Articles

    See a list of all databases via the Library Homepage  --  Research --  Databases A to Z.

    Check the Psychology Subject Guide for other recommended databases and resources.

    PsycINFO
    Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.


    SEARCHING

    1. Start with keyword searching on the main screen.  Enter keywords that describe your topic. 

        Search tips to remember:       

      • Brainstorm alternate keywords (synonyms) for your concepts. Connect synonyms with OR. Example: stress or anxiety; women or female; "academic achievement" or "educational achievement"
      • Use * for truncation. Example: therap* retrieves therapy, therapies, therapeutic, etc.
      • Use " " for phrase searching. Example: "obsessive compulsive disorder"

    2. Browse through your results.  Click on any article that looks relevant to see more information about it.  Read the abstract, summarizing the article. 

    As you look through your results, use them to your advantage.

      • What other words could you use in your next search?  Look in the title, keywords, and abstract sections of relevant article records.
      • What subjects could you use?  Each article has been assigned subjects that describe the content of the article.  The subject of one article should lead you to more like it. 
      • When you find a useful article, don't forget to look at its reference list.  Is there anything there you might be able to use?
        
       

      Getting the Full Text of Articles

      To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

      - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

      - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      Finding Books

      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

      To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

          

        Citing Your Sources

        • For information on APA Style, see:
          • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
            Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
          • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
          • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • Zotero
          "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
            

          Need Help with Your Research?

          Contact:

          Jen Jarson
          Social Sciences Reference Librarian
          phone: 484-664-3552
          email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip