Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017
Humanities & Business Librarian
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library. Full text includes Cinema Journal, Film & History, Film Comment, Film Criticism, Film History, Film International, Film Journal International, Journal of Film and Video, and Journal of Popular Film and Television.
- Google Books
Allows searching within contents of books. Links directly to interlibrary loan.
- Google Scholar
A free index to books and articles that include a bibliography. Some are scholarly publications, but others are unpublished works and/or non-peer-reviewed. Use with caution. Some links to full text--especially non-English. Use this resource in conjunction with our Journal Locator, or request articles on interlibrary loan.
Full text of scholarly journals from most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago. Current issues are often to be found in Project Muse (see below). Includes nearly 300 journals specific to language and literature, including American Literary History, American Quarterly, Chaucer Review, College Composition and Communication, College English, College Literature, Early American Literature, ELH, English Journal, New Literary History, Shakespeare Quarterly, Southern Literary Journal, and Yearbook of English Studies.
- MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more, with coverage in the main from 1980 to present.