This is the "Home" page of the "African American Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Art  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/afamart Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

A.T.

 

Getting to the full text

Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

Reference works

  • Oxford Art Online
    An expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
  • Wikipedia
    A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.

Primary documents

Books

  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
  • WorldCat
    Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

Newspapers

  • Black Studies Center
    Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more, with coverage in the main from 1980 to present.

Scholarly journals

  • America: History & Life with Full Text
    The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
  • Art Full Text
    Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
  • Black Studies Center
    Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
  • Google Scholar
    May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
  • JSTOR
    A substantive archive of more than 300 scholarly history journals, all full text. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Full text journals include American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of American Studies, Review in American History, Comparative Studies in Society and History, Cultural Critique, Eighteenth Century Studies, Environmental History, Historical Journal, and History and Theory.

Citing Sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

      
     

    Interlibrary Loan

    Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip