- 1964 Freedom Summer Project
Browse or search over 30,000 original documents from Freedom Summer, an effort by civil rights activists to integrate Mississippi's segregated political system.
- The Archive: The King Center
There are nearly a million documents at this website associated with the life of Martin Luther King Jr. These pages will present a more dynamic view than is often seen of Dr. King’s life and times. The documents reveal the scholar, the father, and the pastor. Through these papers we see the United States of America at one of its most vulnerable, most honest and perhaps most human moments in history.
- Black Liberation 1969 Archive
The Black Liberation 1969 Archive chronicles the history of the black student protest movement at Swarthmore College by finally bringing forward the experiences of the students who organized and executed a series of nonviolent direct actions and negotiations at Swarthmore College. In honor of the College’s sesquicentennial, this archive challenges visitors to reconsider the stories that have previously constituted the official narrative and to engage with the black experience of Swarthmore in this critical period.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
- Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia
Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia is a collection of digitized archival resources detailing the history of the modern civil rights movement in Philadelphia. Through a compelling range of photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, film footage, and oral histories, Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia seeks to highlight the key people, places, and events that made Philadelphia an important part of the national struggle for racial equality and social change. Temple University Libraries sponsors Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia and the text and materials presented here are primarily drawn from the holdings of its special collections.
- Civil Rights Movement Veterans
This website is created by Veterans of the Southern Freedom Movement (1951-1968). With a few minor exceptions, everything on this site was written, created, or spoken by Movement activists who were direct participants in the events they chronicle.
- Eyes on the Prize Interviews
Eyes on the Prize is a 14-part series which was originally released in two parts: Eyes I in 1985 and Eyes II in 1988. This series, which debuted on PBS stations, is considered to be the definitive documentary on the Civil Rights Movement. “Eyes on the Prize” won more than twenty major awards and attracted over 20 million viewers. These interviews are part of the Henry Hampton Collection housed at the Film and Media Archive at Washington University Libraries. Each transcript represented the entire interview conducted by Blackside including sections which appeared in the final program and the outtakes.
- Guide to the Joseph A. Sinsheimer Papers, 1962-1987
Joseph A. Sinsheimer graduated from Duke University in 1987 with an A.B. in History. He recorded oral histories of the Mississippi civil rights movement between 1983 and 1987, with grant support from the Lyndhurst Foundation. Collection includes audio recordings and transcripts of oral history interviews and speeches regarding the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee in Mississippi in the 1960s, with brief summaries. Focus is on the "Freedom Summer" of 1964. Notable interviews include Robert Parris Moses, Sam Block, Hazel Palmer, Jesse Jackson, Gray Evans, Frank Smith, and many more. Collection also contains a small amount of manuscript materials from the civil rights era, including clippings, reports, scrapbooks, and correspondence.
- The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University
This site is organized into two sections. The Life of Malcolm X takes you on a chronological journey through Malcolm's life, featuring readings, analysis and multimedia concerning each period of his life. Malcolm Multimedia is a comprehensive collection of digital media about Malcolm X, featuring video interviews with people who knew Malcolm, government documents and archival footage.
- The Nicest Kids in Town
View over 100 images and video clips related to a University of California press book project on racial discrimination by the television show American Bandstand, including American Bandstand memorabilia, newspaper clippings regarding protests of American Bandstand, photographs from high school yearbooks, and video clips from American Bandstand.
- Southern Oral History Program
Since 1973, the Southern Oral History Program has worked to preserve the voices of the southern past. We have collected more than 5,000 interviews with people from all walks of life—from mill workers to civil rights leaders to future presidents of the United States. Made available through UNC’s renowned Southern Historical Collection online, these interviews capture the vivid personalities, poignant personal stories, and behind-the-scenes decision-making that bring history to life.
- Sovereignty Commission Online
The Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission was the state's official counter civil rights agency from 1956–1973. The files in this online collection comprise the scanned originals with court-approved redactions requested by individuals named in the records along with additional information submitted by individuals named in the records who chose to file a rebuttal. The collection also includes the court-specified personal name index and links between rebuttal records and Commission records in which rebuttal submitters are mentioned. The files may be searched by personal name, folder title and number, or rebuttal respondent.
- SNCC Documents
- A Voice That Could Stir an Army: Fannie Lou Hamer and the Rhetoric of the Black Freedom Movement
Video and text of speeches by Civil Rights activist Fannie Lou Hamer.