Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Oxford Art Online
An expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.
- Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Subscription databases, in non-U.S. history.
A subscription database. An archive for many scholarly journals including some in art history.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.
For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.
Most any item not immediately available in our library or in the research databases can be requested on interlibrary loan
by filling out the appropriate form for articles