This is the "Home" page of the "Advanced Laboratory in Perception and Cognition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Advanced Laboratory in Perception and Cognition  

Last Updated: Jul 24, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/alperceptioncognition Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to 325 reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from over 60 respected publishers across 17 major subject areas--all online, all searchable from one search box.
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

Annual Review of Psychology
Print Location: Trexler Library Main Collection 150.5 A615 v.1-v.60 (1950-2009)
Online Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

      

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Finding Articles

      SUBJECT-SPECIFIC DATABASES

      PsycINFO
      Premier database of scholarly and professional literature in psychology and related areas.

      INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

      Academic Search Complete
      Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

      ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
      Indexes journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more.

      Omnifile (Wilson Web)
      A database with some full text articles covering various academic subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business.

      Sage Journals Online
      Full-text access to over 500 journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage of scholarly publications in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences.

      ScienceDirect College Edition Health and Life Sciences
      A database of 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health and life sciences.

          
         

        Getting the Full Text of Articles

        To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

        - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

        - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        Citing Your Sources

        • For information on APA Style, see:
          • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
            Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
          • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
          • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • Zotero
          "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
            

          Need Help with Your Research?

          Contact:

          Jen Jarson
          Social Sciences Reference Librarian
          phone: 484-664-3552
          email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip