This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to American Government " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to American Government  

Last Updated: Jun 11, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/amgovt Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Background Information

REFERENCE MATERIALS

The CQ Researcher (1991-current)
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 300.97305 C882r (Level A)
(NOTE: 1994-current is available in the Reference Collection at above call number.  1991-1995 is available in the Microforms section.)
*Use the Online Index to Reports to find the issue for your topic.
Published 44 times a year, each single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports features cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Credo Reference
Location: Online (search the library catalog by title)
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.

Encyclopedia of Social Problems (2008)
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 361.103 E56o v.1-2 (Level A)

West's Encyclopedia of American Law (2004)
Location: Online (search the library catalog by title)
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 349.7303 W538e v.1-13 (Level A)

Trexler Library may also have reference works related to your particular topic. To find them, search the catalog or ask for help. Examples include:

Encyclopedia of Education Law (2008)
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 344.73 E56o v.1-2 (Level A)

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 304.203 E56o v.1-5 (Level A)

WEBSITES

Intute
http://www.intute.ac.uk/

IPL2
http://www.ipl.org/index.html

LIBRARY NEWS DATABASES

LexisNexis Academic
Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.
GETTING THERE : Library Homepage -- Databases A to Z -- LexisNexis Academic

      

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Finding Articles: Databases & Indexes

      Political Science Databases

      PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
      Citations from 1972 to the present from scholarly journals, gray literature, government publications, and more from 120 countries on political, economic, social and public policy issues.

      Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
      Indexes international serials literature in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

      General / Interdisciplinary Databases

      Academic Search Complete
      Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

      JSTOR
      Full text of scholarly journals from most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

      OmniFile (WilsonWeb)
      A database with some full text articles covering various academic subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business.

      News

      LexisNexis Academic
      Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.

          

        Finding Government Information

        Muhlenberg College receives about 30% of all materials published by the Federal Government. These items cover a wide range of subject areas--from legal materials and the records of Congress to health and education information and in-depth research conducted by the Smithsonian. All of the government documents that we receive have records in the Trexler Library Catalog.

        Google U.S. Government Search
        http://www.google.com/unclesam
        Google's search tool for state and federal webpages.

        Government Documents Center (University of Michigan Library)
        http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/
        "The Documents Center is a central reference and referral point for government information, whether local, state, federal, foreign or international. Its web pages are a reference and instructional tool for government, political science, statistical data, and news."

        LexisNexis Congressional
        Information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.
        GETTING THERE: Library Homepage  --  Databases A to Z (in the Quick Links box).

            

          Finding Data

          See the Finding Statistics and Data guide for recommendations of useful resources.

          Congressional Budget Office
          http://www.cbo.gov/

          U.S. Government Accountability Office
          http://www.gao.gov/

              

            Citing Your Sources

            • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
              Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
            • Zotero
              "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
                

              Need Help with Your Research?

              Contact:

              Jen Jarson
              Social Sciences Reference Librarian
              phone: 484-664-3552
              email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                  
                Description

                Loading  Loading...

                Tip