Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture
This unique encyclopedia chronicles American Jewish popular culture, past and present in music, art, food, religion, literature, and more. Over 150 entries, written by scholars in the field, highlight topics ranging from animation and comics to Hollywood and pop psychology. Without the profound contributions of American Jews, the popular culture we know today would not exist. Where would music be without the music of Bob Dylan and Barbra Streisand, humor without Judd Apatow and Jerry Seinfeld, film without Steven Spielberg, literature without Phillip Roth, Broadway without Rodgers and Hammerstein.
- Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd ed., 2007)
(Trexler Library Reference Collection 296.03 E56j)
Signed entries by invited contributors. Good for topic-finding and topic-narrowing.
- Encompass Search
Catalog of books and documents in our library and libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.
- Google Books
May include excerpts of full text, especially of books now in the public domain (published pre-1923).
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles.
- America History & Life
A subscription database. Standard index for American history. Some full text.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
A subscription database. Standard index for scholarship on Jewish religion and culture. Some full text.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Free index of scholarship on Jewish religion and culture.