This is the "Home" page of the "Archaeology Method & Theory" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archaeology Method & Theory  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/archaeologymethodtheory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Books

  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box. To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.
  • Google Books
    Search books via Google. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, search the library catalog by title to check for full text online or in the library.
      

    Finding Articles

    • America: History and Life
      A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more in U.S. and Canadian history. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box.  To find only articles, use the Article limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Use the Peer-reviewed limit to narrow further to scholarly sources that have been peer-reviewed. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Google Scholar
      Search scholarly literature via Google. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, search Encompass Search by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
        

      Citing Your Sources

      • For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide. 

      • American Anthropological Association Style Guide
        General guidelines, as well as reference examples.  AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

      • Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style.  For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:
      • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
        Location: Online or search library catalog by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
      • Zotero
        "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
          

        Need help with your research?

        Contact:

        Jen Jarson
        Social Sciences Reference Librarian
        phone: 484-664-3552
        email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip