Subject Guides: Art Histories: An Introduction: Home

Reference Works

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.

Morning Call, 1984 to present This link opens in a new window
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Morning Call Archive, 1883-2011 This link opens in a new window
Allentown / Lehigh Valley newspaper archive that comprises titles including the Critic and the Morning Critic, the Allentown Morning Call, and the Allentown Morning Call and Morning Herald.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to current and recent archives of major daily news publications, regional, and local news resources in the US & Canada, plus over 800 more from around the globe. Publication types include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.

Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Books
Previews of content. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.

Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.