Last Updated: May 12, 2017
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Met.
- Oxford Art Online
An expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
Great for comparative images.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Previews of content. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.
- Kress Foundation website
Includes extensive catalogue of Kress collection works.
Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
- Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
A subscription database. An archive for many scholarly journals including some in art history.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to historical literature for all regions excluding the U.S. and Canada, 1450-present. Numerous links to full text.
Most any item not immediately available in our library or in the research databases can be requested on interlibrary loan
by filling out the appropriate form for articles