This is the "Home" page of the "Life and Death in the Atlantic World" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Life and Death in the Atlantic World  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/atlanticworld Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works (good for generating topics and recommending sources)

      • Credo Reference
        Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
      • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
        A free resource. Scholarly. Peer-reviewed. Good introduction to methodological approaches. Search on "literary theory."

      Finding primary documents

      Primary documents can be found abundantly by using any standard web search engine like Google. However, Encompass or WorldCat (see description below) can be good sources for primary documents published in book form.

      One excellent website offering access to primary documentation is Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, sponsored by Emory University and others.

      Our library subscribes to a primary documents database called Early English Books Online, covering up to 1700, and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO).

      The Pennsylvania Gazette, available online by library subscription. served as the paper of record in the 18th and early 19th century in the British colonies and early U.S.

      Google Books contains a wealth of pre-copyright (pre-1923) materials.

      See also the footnotes of secondary sources, which often will point to primary documentation.

          

        Authoritative secondary commentary in books

        • Encompass Search
          Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

        Authoritative secondary commentary in articles

        • America History & Life
          Library subscription databse. The standard index for peer-reviewed articles and book chapters on U.S. and Canadian history.
        • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
          Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles and scholarly books on Latin American history.
        • JSTOR
          Library subscription databse. Archive of the full text of numerous history journals from major academic presses.

        Websites more likely to be scholarly

        • Google Scholar
          May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

        Citing sources in Chicago style (foot/endnotes and bibliography format)

        For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

        Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

        The full text of the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. is available to Muhlenberg College students here.

        For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Here is a user guide to Zotero. NOTE: In order to construct footnotes (as opposed to bibliography), the MS Word Plug-In is needed.

        Help with annotated bibliographies

        Visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

            

          Articles via interlibrary loan

          Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip