This is the "Home" page of the "Basic Speech" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Basic Speech  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/basicspeech Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Rachel Hamelers
Reference Librarian, Science subject specialist
phone: x3601
email: rhamelers@muhlenberg.edu
IM: (AIM) rachelhamelers
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler

      

    Where can I go for brainstorming and narrowing a topic?

    • Credo Reference
      (Trexler Library, Online Reference Shelf)
      Credo Reference provides access to 325 reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from over 60 respected publishers across 17 major subject areas--all online, all searchable from one search box. Search across all sources or search or browse within a single reference work.
    • CQ Researcher
      (Trexler Library, level A, Reference 300.97305 C882r)
      This monthly periodical devotes each issue to a topic of public concern, presenting opposing viewpoints and overview and history of the topic.
    • Wikipedia
      A good source for brainstorming for ideas, and narrowing a topic. A communally-edited site. Non-scholarly. Compare this resource to Scholarpedia (http://www.scholarpedia.org/).

    How do I find authoritative websites containing expert testimony, statistics, and examples?

        

      How do I locate legislation histories?

      • Academic Search Complete
        Search on your topic, adding the phrase law or legislation. Watch especially for the publications CQ Researcher or CQ Weekly.
      • CQ Almanac
        (Trexler Library level A, Reference 328.73 C749)

      How do I find scholarly books and government documents containing statements of fact, expert testimony, and examples?

          

        How do I locate periodical articles, especially peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal articles containing facts, expert testimony, and examples?

        • Academic Search Complete
          A good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 4000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement.
        • Omnifile
          Includes extensive full text, from both popular and scholarly periodicals.

        How do I locate statistical data?

        For more resources look at the recommended resources on Trexler Library's Statistics and Data Help Page

        For Subject specific databases look at Subject Guides

        How do I cite my sources in the APA format?

        For tips on citing print and electronic sources, go to Citation Guides.

            

          Articles via interlibrary loan

          Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be requested by going to the interlibrary loan section of the Trexler Library Homepage.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip