Last Updated: Feb 1, 2017
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Available by library subscription. Entries written by leading scholars in the field.
- Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Portions or full text are available for some books. Use WorldCat to acquire the full text of recent scholarly texts where only snippets are available online.
- Academic Search Complete
Available by library subscription. Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
- ATLA Religion
Available by library subscription. Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
- Google Scholar
Free resource. Some full text may be available, especially when searching from campus where library-subscribed full text is often linked directly to Google Scholar. The surest way to verify all points of Muhlenberg access to any full text is to run a journal title search in the library catalog for the article in question.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
Available by library subscription. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.