This is the "Home" page of the "Center for Ethics: Politics, Citizenship, and Ethics (2008-2009)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Center for Ethics: Politics, Citizenship, and Ethics (2008-2009)  

Last Updated: May 27, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/centerforethics2008 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Google Scholar for Articles



 

Player Piano (ongoing events)

Works about Player Piano

Barber, Benjamin R., and Michael J. Gargas McGrath, eds. The Artist and Political Vision. New Brunswick: Transaction, 1982.
Trexler Library Main Collection 809 A791
*See chapter titled: “Kesey and Vonnegut: The Critique of Liberal Democracy in Contemporary Literature.”

Giannone, Richard. Vonnegut: A Preface to His Novels. Port Washington, NY: National University Publications, 1977.
Trexler Library Main Collection 813.54 V947zg
*See chapter about Player Piano.

Literature Criticism Online database
Subscribed to by Muhlenberg College, at http://0-infotrac.galegroup.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/itweb/mul_coll?db=LCO .
Go to: Advanced Search. Search on: Player piano (full text) AND Vonnegut (named author)

Lundquist, James. Kurt Vonnegut. New York: Ungar, 1977.
Trexler Library Main Collection 813.54 V947zl
*Several pages on Player Piano. See index.

Marvin, Thomas F. Kurt Vonnegut: A Critical Companion. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2002.
Trexler Library Main Collection 813.54 V947zma
*Contains a chapter devoted to Player Piano.

Mustazza, Leonard. Forever Pursuing Genesis: The Myth of Eden in the Novels of Kurt Vonnegut. Lewisburg PA : Bucknell University Press, 1990.
Trexler Library -- copy on order
*See chapter about Player Piano.

Mustazza, Leonard. “The Machine Within: Mechanization, Human Discontent, and the Genre of Vonnegut's Player Piano.” Papers on Language and Literature: A Journal for Scholars and Critics of Language and Literature, 1989 Winter; 25 (1): 99-113. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 29, 2008).

Rabkin, Eric S., Martin H. Greenberg, and Joseph D. Olander, eds. No Place Else: Explorations in Utopian and Dystopian Fiction. Carbondale: Southern Illinois UP, 1983.
Trexler Library Main Collection 823.09 N739
*See chapter titled: “Vonnegut’s Player Piano: An Ambiguous Technological Dystopia.

Roemer, Kenneth M. ed. America as Utopia. New York: Franklin, 1981.
Trexler Library Main Collection 813.09 A5121
*See chapter titled: “The Ghost in the Machine: The Theme of Player Piano.”

Works about the author Kurt Vonnegut

Reed, Peter J. and Marc Leeds, eds. The Vonnegut Chronicles: Interviews and Essays. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1996.
Trexler Library -- copy on order

Vonnegut, Kurt. A Man Without a Country. New York: Random House, 2007.
Trexler Library Main Collection 813.54 V947m
*An illuminating series of mini-memoirs.

 

Robert Musil (September 9)

Works by Robert Musil

“Amnesty--What Kind and When?” The Nation 218, 16 (20 April 1974): 497-500.
Trexler Library Periodicals

"Focus on Health." In Ignition: What You Can Do to Fight Global Warming and Spark a Movement, edited by J. Isham and S. Waage. Washington, DC: Island Press, 2007.
Trexler Library -- copy on order

Hope for a Heated Planet: How Americans Are Fighting Global Warming and Building a Better Future. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2009.
Trexler Library -- copy on order (forthcoming)

“Learning to Love the Bomb.” The Nation 278, no. 12 (29 March 2004), 2, 23. http://0-vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 24, 2008).

“Nuclear Energy, All Things Considered.” With Eugene A. Rosa, Donna C. King, Jack Steinberger & Helmut Hirsch, The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists 64, no. 1 (March/April 2008), 4-5. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

“People Power.” The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists 60, no. 1 (January/February 2004), 69-70. http://0-vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 24, 2008).

Works about Robert Musil

“14 Conservation CEOs Protest Proposed Parkland Cuts To Gingrich.” Defenders of Wildlife. 24 May 1996. http://tinyurl.com/5aghbb (accessed June 24, 2008).

Government Affairs Program. “Summary of Briefings on Climate Change (10-4-02).” American Geological Institute. http://www.agiweb.org/gap/legis107/climate_briefings.html (accessed June 24, 2008).

"Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellows Program: Robert K. Musil." http://www.cic.edu/projects_services/visitingfellows/visiting_fellows_bios.asp#MUSIL (accessed July 24, 2008).

Works about global environmental politics

Chasek, Pamela S., Janet Welsh Brown, & David Leonard Dowie. Global Environmental Politics, 4th ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2006.
Trexler Library Main Collection 363.7056 C487g

Kamieniecki, Sheldon, ed. Environmental Politics in the International Arena: Movements, Parties, Organizations, & Policy. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1993.
Trexler Library Main Collection 363.70526 K15e

Paterson, Matthew. Understanding Global Environmental Politics: Domination, Accumulation, Resistance. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2000.
Trexler Library Main Collection 363.7 P297u

Physicans for Social Responsibility. http://www.psr.org (accessed June 21, 2008).

 

Guillermo Gómez-Peña (September 11)

Works by Guillermo Gómez-Peña

Codex Espangliensis: From Columbus to the Border Patrol, with Enrique Chagoya & Felicia Rice. San Francisco: City Lights Books, 2000.
Trexler Library -- copy in process

Dangerous Border Crossers: The Artist Talks Back. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
Trexler Library Main Collection 818.54 G633d

Ethno-techno: Writings on Performance, Activism, and Pedagogy, with Elaine Pena. New York: Routledge, 2005.
Trexler Library Main Collection 700 G633et

Guillermo Gomez-Pena.” Art Journal 51, 4 (Winter 1992), 8. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Temple of Confessions: Mexican Beasts and Living Santos, with Roberto Sifuentes & Philip Brookman. New York: Powerhouse Books, 1996.
Trexler Library Main Collection 709.2 G633t

The New World Border: Prophecies, Poems, & Loqueras for the End of the Century. San Francisco: City Lights, 1996.
Trexler Library Main Collection 818.5409 G633n

“[THE] Old Neighborhood.” Inc. 22, 7 (2000), 103-105. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Warrior for Gringostroika: Essays, Performance Texts, and Poetry, with Roger Barta. St. Paul, MN: Graywolf Press, 1993.
Trexler Library Main Collection 818.54 G663w

Works about Guillermo Gómez-Peña

Alaimo, Stacy. “Multiculturalism and Epistemic Rupture: The Vanishing Acts of Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Alfredo Vea Jr.” Melus 25, no. 2 (Summer 2000), 163-186. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Gómez-Peña, Guillermo, Roberto Sifuentes, & Nola Mariano. “La Pocha Nostra.” http://www.pochanostra.com/home/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Horn, Miriam. “The Art of Ethnic Tensions.” U.S. News & World Report 111, no. 27 (December 30, 1991-January 6, 1992), 79-81. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Mendieta, Eduardo. “A Latino Philosopher Interviews a Chicano Performance Artist.” Nepantla: Views from South 2, no. 3 (2001), 539-555. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Works about political performance art

Birringer, Johannes H. Performance on the Edge: Transformations of Culture. London; New Brunswick, NJ: Athlone Press, 2000.
Trexler Library Main Collection 700.904 B619p

Felshin, Nina, ed. But Is It Art?: The Spirit of Art as Activism. Seattle: Bay Press, 1995.
Trexler Library Main Collection 700.103 F324b

Fusco, Coco & Paula Heredia. The Couple in the Cage: A Guatinaui Odyssey [DVD]. New York: Third World Newsreel, 1993.
Trexler Library AV Alcove 702.81 C857i

 

Peter Beinart (September 16)

Works by Peter Beinart

“A Different Country.” New Republic 236, no. 10/11 (5 March 2007), 6. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008) .

“Barack, Don’t Go.” Time 171, no. 24 (16 June 2008), 43. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

“Biden Time.” New Republic 236, no. 8/9 (19 February 2007), 6. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008) .

“Chainsaw Diplomacy.” Time 171, no. 13 (31 March 2008), 42. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008) .

The Good Fight: Why Liberals--and Only Liberals--Can Win the War on Terror and Make America Great Again. New York: Harper Collins, 2006.
Trexler Library -- copy on order

“Inside Job.” New Republic 237, no. 4 (27 August 2007), 11-13. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008) .

“The Jews of South Africa.” Transition 71 (1996), 60-79. http://0-www.jstor.org.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 24, 2008).

Partisan Politics at the Water’s Edge: Lessons from the Dubai Seaports Imbroglio. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 2006. http://www3.brookings.edu/views/papers/beinart20060601.pdf (accessed June 24, 2008).

“The Trailblazers.” Time 171, no. 21 (26 May 2008), 35. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 21, 2008).

Works about Peter Beinart

"Editor-at-Large Peter Beinart: Biography." http://www.tnr.com/columnists/peter_beinart.html (accessed July 24, 2008).

“Fighting for Votes.” Economist 381, no. 8499 (14 October 2006), 87-88. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 24, 2008).

Works about foreign policy and foreign relations

Daalder, Ivo H and James M. Lindsay. America Unbound: The Bush Revolution in Foreign Policy. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 2003.
Trexler Library Main Collection 327.73 D111a

Pillar, Paul L. Terrorism and U.S. Foreign Policy. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 2001.
Trexler Library Main Collection 327.73 P641t

Stein, Richard Joseph, ed. U.S. Foreign Policy Since the Cold War. New York: H.W. Wilson, 2001.
Trexler Library Main Collection 327.73 S819u

US Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Technology, Terrorism, and Government Information. America Still Unprepared, America Still in Danger: The October 2002 Hart-Rudman Terrorism Task Force Report: Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Technology, Terrorism, and Government Information of the Committee on the Judiciary. 107th congress, 2nd sess., 14 November 2002.
Trexler Library Government Documents Y 4.J 89/2:S.HRG.107-978

 

William Gamson (September 22)

Works by William Gamson

Encounters with Unjust Authority. With Bruce Fireman & Steve Rytina. Homewood, IL: Dorsey Press, 1982.
Trexler Library Main Collection 303.36 G194e

“Knowing Your Adversary: Israeli Structure of Political Opportunity and the Inception of the Palestinian Intifada.” With Eitan Alimi & Charlotte Ryan. Sociological Forum 21, no. 4 (December 2006), 535-557. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 24, 2008).

“Movements and Media as Interacting Systems.” With Gadi Wolfsfeld. In Citizens, protest, and democracy, ed. Russell J. Dalton, 114-125. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1993.
Trexler Library Main Collection 305 A512a, v.528

“On a Sociology of the Media.” Political Communication 21, no. 3 (July-September 2004), 305-307. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 24, 2008).

Power and Discontent. Homewood, IL: Dorsey Press, 1968.
Trexler Library Main Collection 301.15 G194p

“Promoting Political Engagement.” In Mediated Politics: Communication in the Future of Democracy, ed. W. Lance Bennett & Robert M. Entman, 56-74. Cambridge, U.K. & New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
Trexler Library Main Collection 320.014 M489p.

SIMSOC: Simulated Society: Participant’s Manual with Selected Readings. New York: Free Press, 1972.
Trexler Library Main Collection 301.15 G194s

Works about William Gamson

Frost, Greg. “Extra Credit.” The Boston College Chronicle 14, no. 14 (30 March 2006). http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/rvp/pubaf/chronicle/v14/mr30/extracredit.html (accessed June 26, 2008).

Smith, Sean. “Gamson Joins Eminent Academy.” The Boston College Chronicle 10, no. 18 (24 May 1996). http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/rvp/pubaf/chronicle/v10/my24/gamson.html (accessed June 26, 2008).

Sullivan, Mark. “Two Sociologists Win Awards.” The Boston College Chronicle 6, no. 9 (15 January 1998). http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/rvp/pubaf/chronicle/v6/ja15/sociology.html (accessed June 26, 2008).

"William Gamson's Homepage." http://www2.bc.edu/~gamson/Homepage(Frames).html (accessed July 24, 2008).

Works about social movement and mass media

Aronowitz, Stanley. How Class Works: Power and Social Movement. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2003.
Trexler Library Main Collection 305.5 A769h

Stanton, Richard. All News is Local: The Failure of the Media to Reflect World Events in a Globalized Age. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2007.
Trexler Library Main Collection 070.4 S792a

 

Peter Brookes (September 24)

Works by Peter Brookes

A Devil’s Triangle: Terrorism, Weapons of Mass Destruction, and Rogue States. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2005.
Trexler Library -- copy on order

“Korean Nukes: Don’t Get Giddy, We’re Still Far From Ending the Threat.” The New York Post, 27 June 2008. http://www.nypost.com/seven/06272008/postopinion/opedcolumnists/korean_nukes__dont_get_giddy_117426.htm (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Mullahs and Missles: Iran Flaunts Its Aggressive Intent.” The New York Post, 10 July 2008. http://www.nypost.com/seven/07102008/postopinion/opedcolumnists/mullahs__missiles_119236.htm (accessed July 20, 2008).

“The Newest Trends in Terror.” The New York Post, 3 June 2008. http://www.nypost.com/seven/06032008/postopinion/opedcolumnists/the_newest_trends_in_terror_113700.htm (accessed July 20, 2008).

Works about Peter Brookes

“A Devil’s Triangle: Terrorism, Weapons of Mass Destruction, and Rogue States.” Future Survey 28, no. 4 (April 2006): 8-9. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

“About Peter Brookes.” http://www.peterbrookes.net/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Peter Brookes.” The Heritage Foundation. http://www.heritage.org/about/staff/PeterBrookes.cfm (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Peter Brookes.” U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission. http://www.uscc.gov/about/commissioners/brookespg.php (accessed July 20, 2008).

Works about national security and foreign policy

Allison, Graham, ed. Confronting the Specter of Nuclear Terrorism. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006.
Trexler Library Main Collection 305 A512a, v.607

Cirincione, Joseph. Deadly Arsenals: Nuclear, Biological, and Chemical Threats. Washington, DC: Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 2005.
Trexler Library Main Collection 327.174 C578d

The Heritage Foundation: Leadership for America. http://www.heritage.org/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

U.S. Congress. Committee on Homeland Security. The Department of Homeland Security Major Initiatives for 2007 and Beyond. 109 th Congress, 2nd sess., September 26, 2007.
Trexler Library Government Documents Y 4.H 75:109-106

 

Kjellgren Alkire (October 3)

Works by Kjellgren Alkire (exhibitions)

2006 -- Rockin’Horse vs. the Rodeo. Mobile Rezurrection Gallery, Phoenix, AZ.

2006 -- Jesus Rodeo: An Interactive Installation. Henry Gonzalez Convention Center, San Antonio, TX.

2006 -- HeartDetour (Phoenix ArtDetour). Modified Gallery, Phoenix, AZ.

2006 -- Ash Wednesday Mourning, Interactive 7-hour Public Performance. Neeb Plaza, Tempe, AZ.

2005 -- Advent Project, A Multi-Sensory Liturgical Collaboration. Living Word Lutheran Church, Katy, TX.

2005 -- Cootiecatcher vs. Calamity: An Investigation of Certainty, Security and the Sublime. Ylvisaker Fine Arts Center, Bethany Lutheran College, Mankato, MN.

2004 -- Heartbreak: An Interactive Installation Investigating Love, Loss & Liturgy. Louvin Gallery, House of Mercy, St Paul, MN.

2003 -- Buildings, Bodies, Botany: Twelve Monoprints & Digital Photography. Clown Lounge Gallery, Turf Club, St Paul, MN.

2002 -- Logos: Thirty Screenprints & Drawings. Dreamcoat Gallery, Stillwater, MN.

2001 -- Remarkable: Twelve Monoprints & Drawings. Nina’s Gallery, St Paul, MN.

Works about Kjellgren Alkire

Alkire, Kjellgren. “Jesus Rodeo .” http://www.jesusrodeo.com (accessed June 26, 2008).

“Kjellgren Alkire.” Eye Lounge: A Contemporary Art Space, 2008. http://www.eyelounge.com/alkire/ (accessed June 29, 2008).

“Kjellgren Alkire: Pulpit.” Image Update 127, August 1, 2007. http://imagejournal.org/imageupdate/127_070801.htm (accessed June 26, 2008).

Lurvey, Johanna. “Exhibit Explores Planes of Normality.” The Badger Herald, February 7, 2008. http://badgerherald.com/artsetc/2008/02/07/exhibit_explores_pla.php (accessed June 29, 2008).

Works about printmaking

Saff, Donald & Deli Sacilotto. Printmaking: History & Process. New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston, 1978.
Trexler Library Main Collection 760 S252p

Schwendener, Martha. “Even in the Digital Age, a Strong Case for Printmaking.” The New York Times, 12 February 2007, sec. E1. http://0-www.lexisnexis.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 26, 2008).

 

Gary Jacobson (October 7)

Works by Gary Jacobson

A divider, not a uniter: George W. Bush and the American people. Great questions in politics series. New York: Pearson Longman, 2007.
Trexler Library -- copy on order

“The 105th Congress: Unprecedented and Unsurprising.” In The Elections of 1996, ed. Michael Nelson, 143-166. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1997.
Trexler Library Main Collection 324.973 N428e

“Competition in U.S. Congressional elections.” In The Marketplace of Democracy: Electoral Competition and American Politics, ed. Michael P. McDonald & John Samples, 27-52. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 2006.
Trexler Library Main Collection 324.60973 M135m

“Measuring Campaign Spending Effects in U.S. House Elections.” In Capturing Campaign Effects, ed. Henry E. Brady & Richard Johnston, 199-220. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006.
Trexler Library Main Collection 324.70973 C254c

“Partisan and Ideological Polarization in the California Electorate.” State Politics & Policy Quarterly 4, no. 2, (Summer2004), 113-139. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 25, 2008).

“Polarized Politics and the 2004 Congressional and Presidential Elections.” Political Science Quarterly 120, no. 2, (Summer 2005), 199-218. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 25, 2008).

“Referendum: The 2006 Midterm Congressional Elections.” Political Science Quarterly 122, no. 1, (Spring 2007), 1-24. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 25, 2008).

Works about Gary Jacobson

“Gary C. Jacobson.” Faculty Experts. University of California at San Diego. 2000. http://ucsdnews.ucsd.edu/facultyexperts/details.asp?exp=16906 (accessed June 24, 2008).

“Q & A Gary Jacobson.” Chancellor’s Office. University of California at San Diego. n.d. http://www-chancellor.ucsd.edu/qa_jacobson.asp (accessed June 26, 2008).

"Gary C. Jacobson." http://polisci.ucsd.edu/faculty/jacobson.htm (accessed July 24, 2008).

Works about American politics and congressional elections

Clarke, Peter & Susan H. Evans. Covering Campaigns: Journalism in Congressional Elections. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1983.
Trexler Library Main Collection 071.3 C599c

Herrnson, Paul S. Congressional Elections: Campaigning at Home and in Washington. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1995.
Trexler Library Main Collection 324.973 H568c

Makinson, Larry. Open Secrets: The Encyclopedia of Congressional Money & Politics, 4th ed. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1996.
Trexler Library Reference Collection 324.78 M235o

 

Terry Madonna (October 13)

Works by Terry Madonna

“Reform in Philadelphia: Joseph S. Clark, Richardson Dilworth and the Women Who Made Reform Possible, 1947-1949.” With John Morrison MacLarnon. Pennsylvania Magazine of History & Biography 127, no. 1 (1 January 2003), 57-88. http://dpubs.libraries.psu.edu/ (accessed June 25, 2008).

“Why the Electoral College is Bad for America.” Presidential Studies Quarterly 35, no. 2 (June 2005), 411-412. http://0-vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 25, 2008).

Works about Terry Madonna

Center for Politics & Public Affairs. “Dr. G. Terry Madonna--Biography.” Franklin & Marshall College. 2008. http://www.fandm.edu/x2206.xml (accessed June 26, 2008).

“Interview with Dr. G. Terry Madonna.” Lancaster County Government Study Commission. 6 March 2007. http://www.co.lancaster.pa.us/lancastergsc/lib/lancastergsc/Microsoft_Word_-_GSC_interview_with_Madonna.pdf (accessed June 26, 2008).

Works about political polling

Asher, Herbert B. Polling and the Public: What Every Citizen Should Know, 4th ed. Washington DC: CQ Press, 1998.
Trexler Library Main Collection 303.380973 A825p

Berinsky, Adam J. Silent Voices: Public Opinion and Political Participation in America. Princeton, NJ; Oxford: Princeton University Press, 2004.
Trexler Library Main Collection 303.38 B511s

Center for Opinion Research Floyd Institute for Public Policy. “2007 Pennsylvania Keystone Poll Summary of Findings.” Franklin and Marshall College. 6 June 2007. http://www.thepittsburghchannel.com/download/2007/0606/13455325.pdf (accessed June 26, 2008).

 

Sidney Milkis, Shelley Wilcox, & Lisa Bowleg (October 20)

SIDNEY MILKIS

Works by Sidney Milkis

The American Presidency: Origins and Development, 1776-1990. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1990.
Trexler Library Main Collection 353.0313 M664am

“The History of the Presidency.” In Guide to the Presidency, vol. 1, 2nd ed., ed. Michael Nelson, 61-162. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1996.
Trexler Library Reference Collection 353.0313 C749g

“Partisan Rancor and Representative Democracy.” Chronicle of Higher Education 52, no. 26 (2 March 2007), B6-B9. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 26, 2008).

The President and the Parties: The Transformation of the American Party System Since the New Deal. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
Trexler Library Main Collection 324.273 M664p

Works about Sidney Milkis

Brand, Donald R. “Icons of Democracy.” Political Science Quarterly 109 (Winter 1994/1995), 895-902. http://0-vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed June 29, 2008).

“Sidney Milkis.” The Woodrow Wilson Department of Politics at the University of Virginia. 2008. http://www.virginia.edu/politics/staff/scholars/milkis.html (accessed June 26, 2008).

Works about American presidency and American politics and elections

Campbell, James E. The American Campaign: U.S. Presidential Campaigns and the National Vote. College Station, TX: A & M University Press, 2000.
Trexler Library Main Collection 324.70973 C188a

Cronin, Thomas E. & Michael A. Genovese. The Paradoxes of the American Presidency. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Trexler Library Main Collection 352.230973 C947p

Sabato, Larry J. & Howard R. Ernst. Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections. New York: Facts on File, 2006.
Trexler Library Reference Collection 324.273 S113e


SHELLEY WILCOX

Works by Shelley Wilcox

“Culture, National Identity, and Admission to Citizenship.” Social Theory & Practice 30, no. 4 (October 2004): 559-582. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Feminism and citizenship, by Voet Rian.” Ethics 110, no. 3 (April 2000): 643-645. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 21, 2008).

“Immigrant Admissions and Global Relations of Harm.” Journal of Social Philosophy 38, no. 2 (Summer 2007): 274-291. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

Works about Shelley Wilcox

“San Francisco State University Department of Philosophy -- Faculty -- Shelley Wilcox." http://www.sfsu.edu/~phlsphr/Shelley_Wilcox.html (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Symposium Takes on Tough Issues in Immigration.” Sacramento State News, October 18, 2006. http://www.csus.edu/news/101806Symposiumr.stm (accessed July 20, 2008).

Works about citizenship, feminist philosophy and applied ethics

Cohen, Andrew I. & Christopher Heath Wellman, eds. Contemporary Debates in Applied Ethics. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2005.
Trexler Library Main Collection 170 C878c

Pearsall, Marilyn, ed. Women and Values: Readings in Recent Feminist Philosophy. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Publishing, 1999.
Trexler Library Main Collection 305.4201 P361w

S.W.A.P. The Society for Women’s Advancement in Philosophy. http://swapusa.org/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

Shildrick, Margrit. “Reappraising Feminist Ethics: Developments and Debates.” Feminist Theory 2 (August 2001): 233-244. http://0-fty.sagepub.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 20, 2008).


LISA BOWLEG

Works by Lisa Bowleg

“Gender Roles, Power Strategies, and Precautionary Sexual Self-efficacy: Implications for Black and Latina Women's HIV/AIDS Protective Behaviors.” w ith Faye Z. Belgrave and Carol A. Reisen. Sex Roles 42, no. 7/8 (April 2000): 613-635. http://0-vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com.library.muhlenberg.edu:80/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Love, Sex, and Masculinity in Sociocultural Context: HIV Concerns and Condom Use Among African American Men in Heterosexual Relationships.” Men and Masculinities 7 (October 2004): 166-186. http://0-jmm.sagepub.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

“Varying Angles and Wider Lenses: A Multicultural Transformation of the Undergraduate Social Psychology Course.” In Teaching Gender and Multicultural Awareness: Resources from the Psychology Classroom, eds. Phyllis Bronstein & Kathryn Quina. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2003.
Trexler Library Main Collection 150.71 T253g

Works about Lisa Bowleg

“Lisa Bowleg, PhD -- Drexel University School of Public Health." http://publichealth.drexel.edu/Academics/Faculty_Staff/Lisa_Bowleg_PhD/301/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

Works about GLBT minorities

McShee, Sean. “Can Biology Vanquish Bigotry?” Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide 15 (Jan/Feb 2008): 27-29. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (accessed July 20, 2008).

Meyer, Ilan H. and Mary E. Northridge, eds. The Health of Sexual Minorities: Public Health Perspectives on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Populations. New York: Springer, 2007.
Trexler Library Main Collection 361.10866 H434o

Sepulveda, David. “The Other 10%.” Advocate (June 24, 2003): 50-52, 54, 57-58, 60, 62-62. http://0-vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com.library.muhlenberg.edu:80/P (accessed July 20, 2008).

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kelly Cannon
Contact Info
484-664-3602
IM: refcannon (AIM, Yahoo)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip