This is the "Home" page of the "Center for Ethics: Ethics of Space / Power of Place (2009-2010) " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Center for Ethics: Ethics of Space / Power of Place (2009-2010)  

Last Updated: May 27, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/centerforethics2009 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Google Scholar for Articles



 

Mapping the Muhlenberg Landscape--Border, Boundaries, and Barriers (September 8)

Works on Muhlenberg Spaces

Community design. (2003). American School & University, 75(10), 14-15. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=10175751&site=ehost-live&scope=site .

Tripaldi, M.S. (2003). Muhlenberg’s living stones: The glory of God in the Egner Memorial Chapel.   
Trexler Library Main Collection 726.509748 T835m

Wiewel, W. & Knaap, G. (Eds.). (2005). Partnerships for smart growth:  University-community collaboration for better public places.  Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe; Cambridge, MA: Lincoln Institute of Land Policy.
Trexler Library Main Collection 378.103 W652p

 

Lady Pink (September 22)

Works by Lady Pink

Lady Pink’s MySpace page with photos of her art. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://www.myspace.com/pinksmith7.

Web page of Lady Pink. Retrieved May 14, 2009, from http://www.pinksmith.com/.

Works about Lady Pink

Johnson, K. (2006, June 30). Aerosol outlaws, suddenly on the inside track. The New York Times. Retrieved May 14, 2009, from http://www.nytimes.com.

Q & A with Lady Pink supporting her exhibition ‘Graffiti’ at the Brooklyn Museum. Retrieved May 14, 2009, from http://www.brooklynmuseum.org/exhibitions/graffiti/ladypink.php.

Siegel, F. (1993, March/April). Lady Pink: Graffiti with feminist intent. Ms., 3(5), 66-69.
Trexler Library Periodicals Level C

Works about Graffiti Art

Art Crimes (an online gallery of graffiti from artists around the globe).  Retrieved May 14, 2009, from http://artcrimes.com/.

Austin, J. (2001). Taking the train: How graffiti art became an urban crisis in New York City. New York: Columbia University Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 751.73097471 A936t

Chalfant, H.  (1987).  Spraycan art.  New York:  Thames & Hudson.
Trexler Library Main Collection 751.7309048 C436s

Powers, L.A. (1996). Whatever happened to the graffiti art movement?  Journal of Popular Culture, 29(4)137-142. Retrieved May 14, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9701110119&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Reiss, J. (2008). Bomb it: Street art is revolution [DVD]. A Flying Cow production in association with Antidote Films, Inc.
Trexler Library AV Alcove 751.73 B695i

 

Sacred Spaces (October 5)

Works about Sacred Spaces

Arnold, P.P. & Grodz, A. (2001). Sacred landscapes and cultural politics: Planting a tree. Burlington, VT: Ashgate.
Trexler Library Main Collection 291.178363 A757s

Burton, L. (2002).  Worship and wilderness: Culture, religion, and law in the management of public lands and resources. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 201.77 B974w

Nelson, L.P. (Ed.) (2006). American sanctuary: Understanding sacred spaces. Bloomington: Indiana University Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 203.5 A512s  

Sacred places. (2007). U.S. News & World Report, 143 (19), 36-72. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=27558379&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

 

Janisse Ray (October 20)

Works by Janisse Ray

The bleeding fields:  Rural exodus and reinhabitation of the southlands (a personal narrative).  Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://www.yale.edu/agrarianstudies/papers/15bleeding.pdf.

Ecology of a cracker childhood. (1999). Minneapolis:  Milkweed Editions.

Pinhook: Finding wholeness in a fragmented land. (2005). White River Junction, VT: Chelsea Green.

Six poems. (2004). Nantahala: A review of writing and photography in Appalachia, 2(2). Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://nantahalareview.org/issue2-2/poetry/RAY.htm.

Wild card quilt: Taking a chance on home. (2003). Minneapolis:  Milkweed Editions.

Works about Janisse Ray

Crowe, T. R. (2004). The new naturalists. DLA Ejournal, 50(1). Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/VALib/v50_n1/crowe.html.

Fielding, A. (2009, April 22). Author and environmentalist Janisse Ray says imagination needed to save planet.  Gainsville Times. Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://www.gainesvilletimes.com/news/archive/17877/.

Works about Rural Spaces

Agnew, E. (2004). Back from the land: How young Americans went to nature in the 1970s, and why they came back. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee.
Trexler Library Main Collection 307.2 A273b

Chisholm, M. (2007). Rural settlement and land use. New Brunswick: Aldine Transaction.
Trexler Library Main Collection 333.76 C542r  

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Finance. (2005). Saving America's great places: The role of tax incentives in preserving rural communities: Hearing before the Committee on Finance, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighth Congress, second session (Sioux City, IA). August 25, 2004. Washington: U.S. G.P.O.  Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS61143.

Vandergeest, P., Idahosa, P., & Bose, P.S. (Eds.). (2007). Development's displacements: Ecologies, economies, and cultures at risk. Vancouver: UBC Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 306.3 D489d 

 

Mindy Thompson Fullilove (October 26)

Works by Mindy Thompson Fullilove

Fullilove, M. & Fullilove, R. (1991). Black men, Black sexuality and AIDS.   In Bowser, B. P. (Ed.), Black male adolescents: Parenting and education in community context (pp. 1-17 ex). Lanham: University Press of America.
Trexler Library Main Collection 305.235 B788b

Fullilove, M.T. & Fullilove, R.E. (2005).  HIV/AIDS in the African American community: The legacy of urban abandonment. Harvard Journal of African American Public Policy, 11, p33-41.  Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=18925097&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Fullilove, M.T., & Fullilove, R.E. III (2000). Place matters. In Hofrichter, R. (Ed.), Reclaiming the environmental debate: The politics of health in a toxic culture (pp. 77-92). Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 362.1 H713r  

Root shock: How tearing up city neighborhoods hurts America, and what we can do about it. (2004). New York: One World/Ballantine Books.
Trexler Library Main Collection 307.760973 F971r  

Waylaid. (2000). In Weis, L. & Fine, M. (Eds.), Construction sites: Excavating race, class, and gender among urban youth (pp. 251-258). New York: Teachers College Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 306.43 W426c

Works about Mindy Thompson Fullilove

Faculty profile. Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://asp.cumc.columbia.edu/facdb/profile_list.asp?uni=mf29&DepAffil=Psychiatry.

Messina, S.A. (2004). Understanding the psychology of place in community health. S & T: A Bryn Mawr College newsletter on research, teaching, management, policy making and leadership in Science and Technology. Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://www.brynmawr.edu/sandt/2004_october/place.html.

Works about Urban Healthcare

Bilheimer, L.T. & Sisk, J.E. (2008). Collecting adequate data on racial and ethnic disparities in health: The challenges continue. Health Affairs, 27(2), 383-391.  Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=31273400&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Brown, D.R., Hernandez, A., Saint-Jean, G., Evans, S., Tafari, I., Brewster, L.G., et al. (2008). A participatory action research pilot study of urban health disparities using rapid assessment response and evaluation. American Journal of Public Health, 98(1), 28-38. Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=28804933&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Frazier, J.W., Margai, F.M., & Tettey-Fio, E. (2003). Race and place: Equity issues in urban America. Boulder: Westview Press. 
Trexler Library Main Collection 305.800973 F846r

Schulz, A.J. & Mullings, L. (Eds.). (2006). Gender, race, class, and health: Intersectional approaches. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
Trexler Library Main Collection 362.1089 G325r 

 

Harvey Molotch (November 10)

Works by Harvey Molotch

Molotch, H., Freudenburg, W., & Paulsen, K. (2000). History repeats itself, but how?: City character, urban tradition, and the accomplishment of place. American Sociological Review, 65, 791-823.  Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://0-www.jstor.org.library.muhlenberg.edu/stable/pdfplus/2657514.pdf.

Molotch, H. & Mcclain, N. (2008). Things at work:  Informal social-material mechanisms for getting the job done.  Journal of Consumer Culture, 8(1), 36-67.  Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://0-joc.sagepub.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/cgi/reprint/8/1/35.

Review, evaluation, and prognosis: Assessments of societal trends: The radicalization of everyone? (1971). In Orleans, P. & Ellis, W.R., Jr. (Eds.), Race, change, and urban society.  Beverly Hills: Sage Publications.
Trexler Library Main Collection 307.76 O71r

Where stuff comes from: How toasters, toilets, cars, computers, and many others things come to be as they are. (2003).  New York: Routledge.  

Works about Harvey Molotch

Faculty Profile. New York University.  Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://as.nyu.edu/object/harveymolotch.html.

McGrath, B. (2008). Powder room 101. New Yorker, 84 (3), p27-28. Retrieved May 15, 2009, from http://0-www.lexisnexis.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/us/lnacademic/search/homesubmitForm.do.

Newman, A. (2007, November 4). Society’s politics, as seen through a porcelain lens. New York Times. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://0-www.lexisnexis.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/us/lnacademic/search/homesubmitForm.do

Works about Public Restrooms

For our convenience. (2008). New Internationalist, 414, 14-15. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=34906254&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Wortham, J. (2008, 15 December). Seeing profit in need to locate a toilet. New York Times. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://0-www.lexisnexis.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/us/lnacademic/search/homesubmitForm.do.

Wright, L. (1971). Clean and decent:  The fascinating history of the bathroom & water closet and of sundry habits, fashions & accessories of the toilet principally in Great Britain, France, & America. London:  Book Club Associates.
Trexler Library Main Collection 643.52 W951c

 

Liz McCartney (November 16)

Commendations Awarded to Liz McCartney

Liz McCartney and Zack Rosenburg are chosen as Gambit's 2008 New Orleanians of the Year.

Liz McCartney is voted 2008 CNN Hero of the Year.

Liz McCartney and Zack Rosenburg receive a Social Entrepreneurship Award from the Manhattan Institute (2008).

The St. Bernard Project receives Hero Award from Friends of New Orleans.

Works about Liz McCartney

CNN heroes. (2009, May 9).  Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://www.cnn.com/2008/LIVING/05/08/heroes.mccartney/index.html.

Husock, H. (2008, October 21). Nobody does it better. The Wall Street Journal.  Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://www.wsj.com.

Pais, N.B. (2009, January 5). Home builders.  Gambit. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://bestofneworleans.com/gyrobase/Content?oid=oid%3A48772

St. Bernard Project. Retrieved May 21, 2009, from http://www.stbernardproject.org/.

Works about Hurricane Katrina Disaster Recovery Efforts

Bates, K.A. & Swan, R.S., (Eds.). (2007). Through the eye of Katrina:  Social justice in the United States. Durham: Carolina Academic Press.
Trexler Library Main Collection 976.335064 B329t

Waugh, W.L., Jr., (Ed.). (2006). Shelter from the storm: Repairing the national emergency management system after Hurricane Katrina. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
Trexler Library Main Collection 305 A512a, v. 604

Youth Organizers Television (2006). Still standing. New York: Educational Video Center.
Trexler Library AV Alcove 551.552 S857s

 

Paula Massood (February 10)

Works by Paula Massood

Massood, Paula J. "An Aesthetic Appropriate to Conditions: Killer of Sheep, (Neo)Realism, and the Documentary Impulse." Wide Angle 21.4 (1999) 20-41. Project Muse. Web. 8 Feb. 2010. http://0-muse.jhu.edu.library.muhlenberg.edu/journals/wide_angle/v021/21.4massood.pdf

Massood, Paula. Black City Cinema: African American Urban Experiences In Film. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2003. Print.
Trexler Library Main Collection 791.43652 M421b

Massood, Paula. “Ghetto Supastar: Warren Beatty’s ‘Bulworth’ and the Politics of Race and Space.” Literature Film Quarterly 30.4 (2002): 287-293. Communication & Mass Media Complete. Web. January 13, 2010 from http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ufh&AN=8948083&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Massood, Paula. "Mapping the Hood: The Genealogy of City Space in Boyz N the Hood and Menace II Society." Cinema Journal 35.2 (Winter, 1996): 85-97. JSTOR. Web. 8 Feb. 2010. http://0-www.jstor.org.library.muhlenberg.edu/stable/1225757

Massood, Paula, ed. The Spike Lee Reader. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2008. Print.
Trexler Library Main Collection 791.430233 L481zm

Massood, Paula J. "Which Way to the Promised Land?: Spike Lee's Clockers and the Legacy of the African American City." African American Review 35.2 (2001): 263. Academic Search Complete . Web. 8 Feb. 2010. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=4952371&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Works about Paula Massood

"Paula Massood." Brooklyn College.  2010. Web. Januray 26, 2010. http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/pub/Faculty_Details5.jsp?faculty=3

"Professor Paula J. Massood."  Film Studies Certificate Program. Graduate Center, City University of New York, 2010. Web. January 26, 2010. http://web.gc.cuny.edu/Filmstudies/faculty/massood.htm

Other Works about the African American Urban Experience in Cinema

Leyda, Julia. “Black-Audience Westerns and the Politics of Cultural Identification in the 1930s.” Cinema Journal 42.1 (Autumn 2002): 46-70. JSTOR. Web. January 26, 2010. http://0-www.jstor.org.library.muhlenberg.edu/stable/1225542

Reid, Mark. Black Lenses, Black Voices: African American Film Now. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2005.  Print.
Trexler Library Main Collection  791.43652 R357b    

Stewart, Jacqueline. “Negroes Laughing at Themselves? Black Spectatorship and the Performance of Urban Modernity.” Critical Inquiry 29.4 (2003): 650-677. MLA International Bibliography. Web. January 27, 2010.
http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=mzh&AN=2003421051&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Stewart, Jacqueline Najuma. Migrating to the Movies: Cinema and Black Urban Modernity. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2005.  Print.
Trexler Library Main Collection 791.43652 S844m  

 

Li Zhang (February 17)

Works by Li Zhang

Zhang, Li. “Contesting Spatial Modernity in Late Socialist China.” Current Anthropology 47.3 (June 2006): 461-484. University of Chicago Press Journals. Web. 5 Feb. 2010. http://0-www.journals.uchicago.edu.library.muhlenberg.edu/doi/full/10.1086/503063

Zhang, Li. “Migration and Privatization of Space and Power in Late Socialist China.” American Ethnologist 28 (1): 179-205. JSTOR. Web. February 9, 2010. http://0-www.jstor.org.library.muhlenberg.edu/stable/pdfplus/3095120.pdf

Zhang, Li. “Spatiality and Urban Citizenship in Late Socialist China.” Public Culture 14.2: 311-334. Project Muse. Web. February 9, 2010. http://0-muse.jhu.edu.library.muhlenberg.edu/journals/public_culture/v014/14.2zhang.pdf

Zhang, Li. Strangers In the City: Reconfigurations of Space, Power, and Social Networks Within China’s Floating Population. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2001. Print.
Trexler Library Main Collection: On Order.

Zhang, Li, and Aihwa Ong, eds. Privatizing China: Socialism from Afar. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2008. Print. 
Trexler Library Main Collection: On Order.

Zhang, Li, and Alan Smart. "From the Mountains and the Fields: The Urban Transition in the Anthropology of China." China Information 20.3 (November 2006): 481-518. Sage Journals Online. Web. 10 Feb. 2010. http://0-cin.sagepub.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/cgi/reprint/20/3/481

Works about Li Zhang

"Zhang, Li." University of California, Davis. 9 Jan. 2010. Web. 5 Feb. 2010. http://anthropology.ucdavis.edu/people/li-zhang-1/li-zhang

"Li Zhang." John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. 2010. Web. 5 Feb. 2010. http://www.gf.org/fellows/16327-li-zhang

Other Works about Privatization and Its Effect on Communal Spaces in Contemporary China

Logan, John, ed. The New Chinese City: Globalization and Market Reform. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2002. Print. 
Trexler Library Main Collection 307.760951 L831n

Smith, Christopher.  China In the Post-Utopian Age. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2000.  Print. 
Trexler Library Main Collection 306.0951 S644c

Tomba, Luigi. “Of Quality, Harmony, and Community: Civilization and the Middle Class in Urban China.” Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique. 17.3 (Winter 2009): 592-616. Project Muse. Web. February 9, 2010. http://0-muse.jhu.edu.library.muhlenberg.edu/journals/positions/v017/17.3.tomba.html

 

Mary Seton Corboy (March 3)

Works about Mary Seton Corboy

Greensgrow Farm [home page].  N.p.,  5 January 2010.  Web.  25 Feb. 2010. http://www.greensgrow.org/farm/index.php

Lamp’l, Joe.  “Greens Grow Farm In Philly.” Urban Sustainable Living.  N.p,  n.d.  Web.  25 Feb. 2010.   http://www.urbansustainableliving.com/greens-grow-farm-in-philly.html

“Real Momentum Profile: Mary Seton Corboy.”  Downelink.  LOGO/MTV Networds,  n.d.  Web.  25 Feb. 2010.   http://www.downelink.com/downetv/video.aspx?url=P62395-Real-Momentum-Profile-Mary-Seton-Corboy

Troutman, Rebecca.  “Greensgrow.”  Side Dish.  Dine Indie, Jan. 2009.  Web.  25 Feb. 2010.  http://www.dineindie.com/sidedish/january2009.cfm

White, April. “Best of Philly 2008: The Best Philadelphian.” Philadelphia. Philadelphia Magazine, Aug. 2009.  Web.  25 Feb. 2010.       http://www.phillymag.com/articles/best_of_philly_2008_the_best_philadelphian/

Works about Urban Gardening

Birch, Eugene L., and Susan M. Wachter, eds.  Growing Greener Cities: Urban Sustainability In the Twenty-First Century.  Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2008.  Web.  26 Feb. 2010. http://books.google.com/books?id=nQqGsUC09q0C&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q=&f=false

Broadway, Michael.  “Growing Urban Agriculture in North American Cities: The Example of Milwakee.”  Focus On Geography.  52.3/4 (Winter 2009): 23-30.  Ebscohost.  Web.  27 Feb. 2010.                      http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=47253391&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Kaufman, Joanne.  “Horticulture: She Creates Urban Edens.”  The Wall Street Journal.  (20 Oct. 2009): D9.  ProQuest.  (Web).  25 Feb. 2010. 
http://0-proquest.umi.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/pqdlink?did=1882269671&Fmt=7&clientId=45221&RQT=309&VName=PQD

Niinemets, Ulo, et al. "Gardening and Urban Landscaping: Significant Players in Global Change." Trends in Plant Science. 13.2 (February 2008): 60-65. ScienceDirect. (Web). 25 Feb. 2010.
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=GatewayURL&_method=citationSearch&_uoikey=B6TD1-4RTCPX5-5&_origin=SDEMFRHTML&_version=1&md5=d6b985d152ab406247178333677b224a

Yardley, William.  “In Portland, Growing Vertical.”  The New York Times.  The New York Times Company, 30 Jan. 2010. Web.  26 Feb. 2010.         http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/31/us/31portland.html?scp=1&sq=In%20Portland,%20Going%20Green%20and%20Growing%20Vertical%20in%20a%20Bid%20for%20Energy%20Savings&st=cse

 

Keith Hampton (March 16)

Works by Keith Hampton

Hampton, Keith. "Grieving for a Lost Network: Collective Action in a Wired Suburb." Information Society 19.5 (2003): 417. Academic Search Complete . Web. 11 March 2010.
http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=11123354&site=ehost-live&scope=site  

Hampton, Keith.  “Internet Use and the Concentration of Disadvantage: Glocalization and the Urban Underclass.”  American Behavioral Scientist (in press). MySocialNetwork.net.  Web. 5 March 2010.  
http://www.mysocialnetwork.net/downloads/UrbanStudies29-dist.pdf

Hampton, Keith.  “Neighborhoods in the Network Society: The e-Neighbors Study.”  Information, Communication & Society 10.5 (October 2007): 714-748.  Communication and Mass Media Complete . Web. 5 March 2010.
http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ufh&AN=27216636&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Hampton, Keith, and Neeti Gupti.  “Community and Social Interaction in the Wireless City: Wi-Fi use in Public and Semi-Public Spaces.”  New Media & Society 10.6 (December 2008): 831-850.  Sage Journals Online . Web. 5 March 2010.
http://0-nms.sagepub.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/cgi/content/abstract/10/6/831

Hampton, Keith, Oren Livio and Lauren Sessions.  “The Social Life of Wireless Urban Spaces: Internet Use, Social Networks, and the Public Realm.”  Journal of Communication (in press).  MySocialNetwork.net. Web. 5 March 2010.
http://www.mysocialnetwork.net/downloads/wifipublic-knh33-dist.pdf

Works about Keith Hampton

 “Keith Hampton.”  MySocialNetwork.net. 2010. Web. 5 March, 2010. 
http://www.mysocialnetwork.net/bio.html

“Keith Hampton.”University of Pennsylvania. 2010. 5 March, 2010.
http://www.asc.upenn.edu/ascfaculty/FacultyBio.aspx?id=153

Other Works about Technology and Social Networking

Lenhart, Amanda, Kristin Purcell, Aaron Smith, and Kathryn Zickuhr. Social Media and Young Adults. Pew Research Center, 2010. Web. 12 March 2010.
http://www.pewinternet.org/Reports/2010/Social-Media-and-Young-Adults.aspx

Park, Namsu, Kerk F. Kee, and Sebastián Valenzuela. "Being Immersed in Social Networking Environment: Facebook Groups, Uses and Gratifications, and Social Outcomes." CyberPsychology & Behavior 12.6 (2009): 729-733. Academic Search Complete . EBSCO. Web. 10 March 2010.
http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=45633781&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Quan-Haase, Anabel. "Instant Messaging on Campus: Use and Integration in University Students' Everyday Communication." Information Society 24.2 (2008): 105-115. Communication & Mass Media Complete. Web. 11 Mar. 2010.
http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ufh&AN=31271078&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

Steve Roden (March 17)

Works by Steve Roden

Web page of Steve Roden. Retrieved March 17, 2010, from http://www.inbetweennoise.com/.

Works about Steve Roden

Green, Kate. "Steve Roden and Stephen Vitiello: Lora Reynolds Gallery." Modern Painters 19.10 (2008): 95. Art Full Text. Web. 17 Mar. 2010.

Janku, Laura Richard. "Steve Roden." ArtUS 8 (2005): 24-25. Academic Search Complete . EBSCO. Web. 17 Mar. 2010.

Kilston, Lyra. "Sound artists Steve Roden and Stephen Vitiello on transforming a field in Marfa, Texas, by way of sonic samples and the play of light." Modern Painters 20.1 (2008): 112, 110. Art Full Text. Web. 17 Mar. 2010.

Kofoed, Kristian. "The Sound of Art: A Conversation with Steve Roden." Artweek 34.8 (2003): 12, 29. Art Full Text. Web. 17 Mar. 2010.

Schad, Ed. "Steve Roden." Art Review (London, England) Oct. 2008: 158. OmniFile Full Text Mega. Web. 17 Mar. 2010.

Taft, Catherine. "Before & After Science." Art Review (London, England) May 2008: 139. Art Full Text. Web. 17 Mar. 2010.

 

Edmund Mooney and Jonny Farrow (March 23)

Works by and about Edmund Mooney & Jonny Farrow

“Edmund Mooney.” www.edmundmooney.com. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.edmundmooney.com/

“Jonny Farrow.” www.jonnyfarrow.net. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://jonnyfarrow.net/

Mooney, Edmund, Andrea Pollie, Jonny Farrow, and Gordon Hempton. “Ear to the Ground.” Seed Magazine. Web. 20 March 2010. http://seedmagazine.com/slideshow/ear_to_the_ground/

“Resume.” www.edmundmooney.com. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.edmundmooney.com/pages/contact-resume.htm

“Work Samples.” www.jonnyfarrow.net. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://jonnyfarrow.net/

Other Works about Soundwalks, Soundscapes, and Acoustic Ecology

Kern, Petra. “Surrounded by Soundscapes - An Afternoon Talk with R. Murray Schafer.” Music Therapy Today 8.2 (18 July 2007). Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.musictherapyworld.de/modules/mmmagazine/showarticle.php?articletoshow=206

Krause, Bernie. "The Loss of Natural Soundscapes." Earth Island Journal 17.1 (2002): 27. Academic Search Complete . EBSCO. Web. 22 Mar. 2010. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=5930713&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Lawson, Francesca Sborgi. "Being Audient: Similarities between Chinese Daoism and Western Acoustic Ecology." Interdisciplinary Humanities 26.2 (2009): 21-30. Academic Search Complete . EBSCO. Web. 22 Mar. 2010. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=47222481&site=ehost-live&scope=site

www.cityinasoundwalk.org. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.cityinasoundwalk.org/

www.nyacousticecology.org. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.nyacousticecology.org/

www.projectsoundwave.com. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.projectsoundwave.com/index2.html

www.soundwalk.com. 2010. Web. 19 March 2010. http://www.soundwalk.com/

 

Additional resources about the ethics of space and power of place.

Pahl, J., et al (2007, May). The desire to acquire: or, why shopping malls are sites of religious violence. The Martin Marty Center for the Advanced Study of Religion. Retrieved July 22, 2009, from http://divinity.uchicago.edu/martycenter/publications/webforum/052007/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kelly Cannon
Contact Info
484-664-3602
IM: refcannon (AIM, Yahoo)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip