This is the "Home" page of the "Child Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Child Development  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/childdevelopment Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

Online

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across subject areas--all online, all searchable from one search box.
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

Selected titles included in Credo Reference:

    • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Child Psychology and Mental Health: African American Children and Mental Health
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology: Child Psychopathology
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Handbook of Child Psychology: Child Psychology in Practice
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Handbook of Child Psychology: Cognition, Perception, and Language
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Handbook of Child Psychology: Social, Emotional, and Personality Development
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development 
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

    • Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development, Applied and Policy Issues
      Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

Handbook of Giftedness in Children: Psychoeducational Theory, Research, and Best Practices
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title to access

Print

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Location: Trexler Library 150.3 E563o v.1-8

The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
Location: Trexler Library 305.231 G151e

Growing Up: A Cross-cultural Cncyclopedia
Location: Trexler Library 305.231 B875g

Handbook of Attachment: Theory, Research, and Clinical Applications
Location: Trexler Library 155.92 H236o

Handbook of Child Psychology
Location: Trexler Library 155.4 H236o 2006 v.1-4

Handbook of Psychology
Location: Trexler Library 150 H236o v.1-12 

      

    Finding Articles

    For information on scholarly vs. popular information characteristics, see What is Scholarly?

    SCHOLARLY, EMPIRICAL ARTICLES

    PsycINFO
    Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    POPULAR MEDIA SOURCES: NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

    Academic Search Complete
    Large and diverse database that contains both scholarly and news/popular resources. Includes many articles in full text.

    Google News

    LexisNexis Academic
    Full text of thousands of newspapers and magazines, as well as broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.

    Yahoo News

        
       

      Getting the Full Text of Articles

      To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

      - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

      - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      Citing Your Sources

      • For information on APA Style, see:
        • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
          Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
        • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
          General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
          General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
      • Zotero
        "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
          

        Need Help with Your Research?

        Contact:

        Jen Jarson
        Social Sciences Reference Librarian
        phone: 484-664-3552
        email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip