Finding Articles: Databases & Indexes
Subject Specific Databases: International Relations, Political Science, and Environmental Science
Biological and Agricultural Index
Citations and some full text articles in the fields of biology and agriculture.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
General / Interdisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Omnifile (Wilson Web)
A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Getting the Full Text of Articles
To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:
- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.
- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.
To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.
European Commission: Environment
European Union: Environment
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
International Union for the Conservation of Nature
North American Commission for Environmental Cooperation
Organization of American States: Department of Sustainable Development
United Nations Division for Sustainable Development
United Nations Enviroment Programme
DOMESTIC GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS
Department of Agriculture
Department of Energy
Department of the Interior
Departments of State
Environmental Protection Agency
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Getting there: Library homepage -- Databases A to Z -- ProQuest Congressional
Information from the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.
Muhlenberg College receives about 30% of all materials published by the Federal Government. These items cover a wide range of subject areas--from legal materials and the records of Congress to health and education information and in-depth research conducted by the Smithsonian. All of the government documents that we receive have records in Encompass Search.
USA.gov: Environment, Energy, and Agriculture
Governments on the World Wide Web
Legal Information Institute, Law by Source: Global (Cornell University)
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.
WashLaw Web: Foreign and International Law (Washburn University School of Law Library)
This site provides a tremendous number of links as well as access to foreign and international legal resources and research tools. It's especially strong on finding legal materials from specific countries (i.e. Nigerian law).
World Legal Information Institute
Organized by country and then by subject.
NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS, THINK TANKS, AND OTHER SELECTED SITES
Center for International Environment Law
"The Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL) is a nonprofit organization working to use international law and institutions to protect the environment, promote human health, and ensure a just and sustainable society. We provide a wide range of services including legal counsel, policy research, analysis, advocacy, education, training, and capacity building. [...] Program areas include Chemicals, Climate Change, Biodiversity and Wildlife, Biotechnology, Trade and Sustainable Development, International Financial Institutions, Law and Communities, and Human Rights and the Environment."
NOTE: Link directly to CIEL's publications page for scholarly papers on relevant topics.
EcoLex: The Gateway to Enviromental Law
"ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. Its purpose is to build capacity worldwide by providing the most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law."
Includes information on environmental treaties, national legislation, case law, secondary literature, etc.
EISIL: International Environmental Law (American Society of International Law)
Links to treaties and websites. Organized by subject.
Foundation for International Law and Development
"Our Vision: A fair, effective and accessible system of international law that protects the global environment and promotes sustainable development. [...] We contribute to this through: Advocacy for broader access to environmental justice and fairer international laws and institutions; Advice and capacity building for groups ranging from poor communities to senior government officials; Research on international law, policy and national practice."
Think Tank Search
Directory of think tanks, from Harvard Kennedy School Library. Search option available, as well.
World Resources Institute
"The World Resources Institute (WRI) is an environmental think tank that goes beyond research to find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people’s lives. Our mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth’s environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations."
" Worldwatch Institute delivers the insights and ideas that empower decision makers to create an environmentally sustainable society that meets human needs. Worldwatch focuses on the 21st century challenges of climate change, resource degradation, population growth, and poverty by developing and disseminating solid data and innovative strategies for achieving a sustainable society. "
Citing Your Sources
For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.
- What you should do to avoid plagiarism
For help using Chicago style, consult the following resources:
- The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
- Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (Writing Center, University of Wisconsin--Madison)
For help with Zotero, a "free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources," see https://www.zotero.org/.
Need Help with Your Research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian