This is the "Home" page of the "Cold War America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cold War America  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/coldwaramerica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    How do I obtain primary sources on Cold War America?

    • Academic Search Complete
      Includes primary documents from magazines back to the twenties.
    • Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy: The Cold War
      Gateway to documents, arranged chronologically. Site hosted by Mount Holyoke College.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Film Review Index
      Index to film reviews from 1882-1985. Call #016.79143 F487r
    • Google Books
      Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
    • New York Times Archive 1923-2012 via Proquest
    • Public Papers of the Presidents
      Located on level A, Government Documents, Call#AE2.114
    • Reader's Guide Retrospective
      Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.
    • Times Digital Archive
      Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
    • United States Government Publications Monthly Catalog
      Location: End of government documents on level A of the library.
    • Wilson Center Digital Archive: Cold War History
      Since its establishment in August 1991, the Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) has amassed a tremendous collection of archival documents on the Cold War era from the once secret archives of former communist countries. CWIHP has become internationally recognized as the world’s preeminent resource on the Cold War.
    • Presidential Studies at the Miller Center of Public Affairs
      Presidential papers back to Washington.

    What about journals, reference works, and books that may contain, or reference, primary sources?

    • America: History & Life with Full Text
      A subscription database. Standard index for American history. Some full text. Also links to full text in other databases.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Google Books
      Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
    • Wikipedia
      Useful in particular for the reference lists that accompany many of the entries: popular and sometimes scholarly sources.
    • WorldCat
      Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

    How about secondary sources for historiography?

    • America: History & Life with Full Text
      The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Google Scholar
      Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
    • WorldCat
      Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

    Web search engines for government documents, etc.

    How about citing source?

    For tips on citing print and electronic sources in the Chicago style, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources. For a more complete guide to the Chicago style, visit Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

    For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Here is a user guide.

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip