Last Updated: Mar 17, 2017
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
- EEBO: Early English Books Online
(available by library subscription)
Contains digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Content covers critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Primarily in English but also includes other languages.
- Pennsylvania Gazette
Has been nicknamed "The New York Times of the 18th century," and covers a broad range of topics in the period 1728-1800.
- American Memory Project
The Library of Congress's American Memory Project includes numerous online collections from the colonial era. Unfortunately, the database emphasizes post-1763.
- Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
A database of thousands of private writings, personal narratives, interviews and more of people from diverse ethnic and social groups from 1550 to the present.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for American history. Some full text. Also links to full text in other databases.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Useful in particular for searching on pre-1923 documents for which the full text is likely available.
- Google Books
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.