This is the "Home" page of the "Communication in the Global Community " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication in the Global Community  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/commglobalcommunity Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

Credo Reference
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title. 
Provides full-text access to a large collection of reference books from high-quality publishers.

Europa World Year Book
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations.
Select a country from the drop down in the upper right corner, then choose Country Profile.

Political Handbook of the World
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Presents information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.

      

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Finding Articles

      Using Encompass Search to Find Articles (and Books...)

      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. To find only articles, use the Article limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Use the Peer-reviewed limit to narrow further to scholarly sources that have been peer-reviewed. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Subject-Specific Databases: Communication and Media Studies

      Communication and Mass Media Complete
      Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Sage Journals Online
      A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search Encompass Search by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

      Subject-Specific Databases: Other Disciplines

      PAIS
      Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Sociological Abstracts
      Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
      Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      More Interdisciplinary Databases
      NOTE: In addition to some scholarly resources, these databases also have popular resources.

      Academic Search Complete
      A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including sociology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      JSTOR
      A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      OmniFile
      A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

          

        Citing Your Sources

        • For information on APA Style, see:
          • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
            Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
          • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
          • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • Zotero
          "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
            

          Need Help with Your Research?

          Contact:

          Jen Jarson
          Social Sciences Reference Librarian
          phone: 484-664-3552
          email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip