This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to Comparative Government & International Relations (Herrick)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to Comparative Government & International Relations (Herrick)  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/compgovtir2 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

REFERENCE BOOKS AND WEBSITES

CIA World Factbook
Online Location: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Fact sheets by country.

Credo Reference
Online Location: http://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com or search the library catalog by title.
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for political science. Full text is linked directly in the database.

The Europa World Year Book
Online Location: http://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.europaworld.com/ or search the library catalog by title.
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: contemporary political history, constitution and government, economic affairs, and more.

Political Handbook of the World
Online Location: http://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/phw/ or search the library catalog by title.
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: government and politics, constitution, foreign affairs, political and opposition parties, and more.

US Department of State: Background Notes
Online Location: http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn
Fact sheets from the Department of State that focus on U.S. relations with each country.

LIBRARY NEWS DATABASES

LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Access: Library Homepage -- Databases A to Z -- LexisNexis Academic

OTHER WEBSITES: Governments and International Organizations

United Nations
http://www.un.org/english/

International Monetary Fund
http://www.imf.org/

International Court of Justice
http://www.icj-cij.org/

The World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/

The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS)
http://www.ecowas.int/

European Union
http://europa.eu/index_en.htm

The Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org/

OTHER WEBSITES: Metasites

Foreign Affairs Online
http://www.people.virginia.edu/~rjb3v/rjb.html
Includes annotated links to the following topics: US Government, Foreign States, UN, NGOs & IGOs, International Law, Human Rights, International Realations, Think Tanks and the Digital Divide.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
http://www.etown.edu/vl/
Compiled by a professor of International Studies at Elizabethtown College, this gateway site is organized into helpful categories. It contains a great depth of high quality information and it has been reviewed and highly ranked by several respected Social Science sources.

Political Resources on the Net
http://www.politicalresources.net/
Organized geographically, this site asks you to choose a region, then a country to research its politics. This arrangement makes it easy to compare to countries within a region, or to compare two regions against one another.

      

    Finding Articles

    For help understanding what sources scholarly vs. popular, see What is Scholarly?.

    Scholarly Articles: International Relations & Comparative Politics Databases

    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    PAIS
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Scholarly Articles: General / Interdisciplinary Databases

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    JSTOR
    A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    Omnifile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Popular Press Articles: News and Magazines

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    LexisNexis Academic
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    Mondo Times -- the Worldwide News Media Guide
    Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.  

        
       

      Getting the Full Text of Articles

      To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

      - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

      - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      Finding Books

      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

      To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

          

        Government Information

        Muhlenberg College receives about 30% of all materials published by the Federal Government. These items cover a wide range of subject areas--from legal materials and the records of Congress to health and education information and in-depth research conducted by the Smithsonian. All of the government documents that we receive have records in the Trexler Library Catalog.

        Legal Information Institute (Cornell University Law School)
        http://www.law.cornell.edu/world/
        "The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International law. "

        LexisNexis Academic
        A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. To access federal and state cases, federal statutes and regulations, international cases, etc., use the "search by content type" area in the upper right corner above the search box.  Full text is linked directly in the database.

        ProQuest Congressional
        Information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.

        World Legal Information Institute
        http://www.worldlii.org/

            

          Citing Your Sources

          For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

          For help using Chicago style, consult the following resources:

          • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
            Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

          For help with Zotero, a "free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources," see https://www.zotero.org/.

              

            Need Help with Your Research?

            Contact:

            Jen Jarson
            Social Sciences Reference Librarian
            phone: 484-664-3552
            email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip