History Subject Guide

Topical collections of primary sources across the 15th – 21st centuries. Content types include printed text, handwritten documents, and oral and video histories. Topics span the social sciences and humanities, including Area and Cultural Studies; Empire and Globalism; Gender and Sexuality; History; Politics; Literature; Theatre; War and Conflict. Search within a single collection or across collections.

"The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1691 to 1877."

Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

"Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics."

"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."

"Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. "

"Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as The Business Magazine, then The Busy Man’s Magazine, and changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.

Maclean’s Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, gender issues, politics and culture, the history of business, advertising, and more."

Allentown / Lehigh Valley newspaper archive that comprises titles including the Critic and the Morning Critic, the Allentown Morning Call, and the Allentown Morning Call and Morning Herald.

A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.

Searchable digital images of historical newspapers from 19 regional cities in the northeast. Includes the Allentown Morning Call Archive (1883-2011).

Trexler Library has access to Newspapers.com Pennsylvania Collection which includes full or partial runs of 276 local newspapers published in Pennsylvania from 1769-2013.

Colonial to 1950. Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.

Full text journals available for searching include: Harper's Magazine, The Progressive, the New Leader, Dissent, American Spectator, Orion Magazine, The Nation, The New Republic, The New Yorker, The National Review, Washington Monthly, The Weekly Standard, LaFollette's Magazine, Commonweal, Commentary, NY Review of Books, Moment, Americas Quarterly.

The Early American paper of record, 1728-1800.

Includes full text of the following publications:
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2019)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
The Washington Post (1877-2006)
U.S. Northeast Collection (1785-2010) (includes Morning Call and other regional papers)

documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health practices and outcomes.

Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.

"Slavery & anti-slavery: a transnational archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more."

"This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery....The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection."

Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

Major daily, regional, and local newspapers in the northeast including:
The Morning Call 1984-present
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present
Boston Globe 1997-present
Hartford Courant 1992-present
New York Daily News 1995-present
New York Observer 2001-present
New York Post 1998-present
Newsday 1985-present
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present
The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present
Village Voice 1993-2015

"The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to present, with monthly updates for new issues."

Full text articles, 1984-present (no images).

The Issues and Identities module of the Women's Studies Archive gathers primary sources focused on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.