Subject Guides: Constitutional History of the U.S.: Home

Supreme Court Cases

Findlaw: Supreme Court
Searchable archive of decisions since 1893.
Legal Information Institute: Supreme Court
See "archive of decisions." Selected historic cases compiled by the Legal Information Institute of Cornell University. Arranged by topic, by author, and by party.
Reading a Supreme Court Brief
From the American Bar Association.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, largely full-text.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to historical research about U.S. history, 1492-present. Links through "Get It" to JSTOR and Project Muse.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.

Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.

Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

American Memory
Library of Congress-managed digital archive culled from research collections throughout the country. See especially the collections titled A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation and Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.