This is the "Home" page of the "Sustainability: Digging Deeper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sustainability: Digging Deeper  

Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/content.php?pid=571230 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I get the Full-text of my article?

To get the full-text of an article:

- If you are in a library database with "Get-it" buttons, click on "Get-it." This button will take you the full text of your article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, interlibrary loan the book or article.

- If you have citation information for the article (title, author, etc.), type the information about your article into Encompass. Find the article on the results list, and click on the title. If you have access to the article via Trexler Library, a link to full text or view-now will be provided.  If not, you can request a copy of the article by clicking the "Request Item" button.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, you can also search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. Look to the far right of the article's title to see if there is a link to a freely available copy. 

Core Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
  • ERIC
    Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
  • Google Scholar - Biology, Medicine, and Life Sciences
    Search the Biology, Life Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacology, and Veterinary Science sections of Google Scholar. Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
  • JSTOR
    Provides full text of scholarly journals from most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
  • Science Direct, Health, Life, and Physical Sciences
    A database of 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences from 1995 to the present.
  • Springerlink
    Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.

Websites Relating to Sustainable Colleges and Universities

  • Campus Sustainability Discussion Forums
    Discussions on topics for creating sustainable campuses.
  • EPA Compositing Portal
  • EPA Sustainability Site
    The Environmental Protection Agency's guide to sustainable practices
  • LEED
    LEED is a program that provides third party certification of green buildings.
  • NOAA Climate Service Portal
    An interactive tool from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration that lets users see a range of constantly updating climate datasets over adjustable time scales.
  • STARS
    The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating Systemâ„¢ (STARS) is a transparent, self-reporting framework for colleges and universities to measure their sustainability performance.

Finding Books

  • Google Books
    Search within the text of books and then click on "Find in a Library" to submit an interlibrary loan request for the complete text.

News sources

  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    News about and relevant to colleges and universities
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Provides full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.
  • Science Daily
    News articles, videos, and images in the subjects of health, math, and the sciences.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rachel Hamelers
Contact Info
Phone: 484-664-3601
E-mail: rhamelers@muhlenberg.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip