Subject Guides: Representation of Disabilities in America : Home

Finding Background Information with Selected Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Encyclopedia of American Disability History by Susan Burch; Paul K. Longmore (Foreword by)
Call Number: 362.40973 E56o
ISBN: 9780816070305
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation by Arthur E. Dell'Orto (Editor); Robert P. Marinelli (Editor)
Call Number: 362.403 E56o
ISBN: 002897297X
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities by Carol Turkington; Joseph R. Harris; American Book Works Corporation Staff
Call Number: 371.903 T939e
ISBN: 0816040753
Publication Date: 2002-04-01
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Kimberly J. Vannest (Editor); Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118660584
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
Handbook of Children with Special Health Care Needs by David Hollar (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461423355
Publication Date: 2012-07-15
Handbook of Disability Studies by Gary L. Albrecht; Katherine D. Seelman; Michael Bury
ISBN: 9780585387703
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Handbook of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by John W. Jacobson (Editor); James A. Mulick (Editor); Johannes Rojahn (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387329314
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
The Nature of Learning Disabilities by Kenneth A. Kavale; Steven R. Forness
Call Number: 371.91 K21n
ISBN: 0805816062
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
The Praeger Handbook of Special Education by Alberto M. Bursztyn
Call Number: 371.90973 P897h
ISBN: 0313332622
Publication Date: 2006-12-12

Finding Scholarly Articles with Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.

For recommendations of additional databases, check the Subject Guides.

America History & Life
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Using Encompass Search for Books

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books and scholarly journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.

Encompass Search
To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan button to request a copy from another library.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

Cite your sources in either APA Style or Chicago Style, depending on the disciplinary focus of your research. Use APA Style for a psychological, educational, and/or media and communication focus. Use Chicago Style for a historical focus.

Chicago Documentation Style (University of Wisconsin)
General orientation to Chicago Style, plus examples.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. Where no rule is present in the AAA guide, follow Chicago.
Chicago Style (Muhlenberg College)
Example of Chicago Style.
Chicago Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
General orientation to Chicago Style, plus examples.