Finding Scholarly Literature
SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES WITH LIBRARY DATABASES
The following selected databases may be useful for finding scholarly literature related to your topic.
Subject databases: Anthropology
Interdisciplinary and databases in other subject areas
- Google Scholar
Search scholarly books, book chapters, and journal articles via Google. Some full text may be available online for free or you may be connected to the library's online subscriptions directly; otherwise, search Encompass Search by book title or journal title to check for full text online or in the library.
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library
- PubMed (Medline)
Notes about scholarly articles and journals...
- Learn more: For information on distinguishing a scholarly article from other types of articles, see What is scholarly?.
- Learn more: To research information about journals, magazines, and newspapers, look up the source in Ulrichsweb Periodicals Directory.
- See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage -- Research -- Databases A-Z. Check the Subject Guides (linked from the Library Homepage in the Research area) for other recommended databases for this and related subject areas.
SEARCHING FOR SCHOLARLY ARTICLES WITH ENCOMPASS SEARCH
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box. While it's not a 100% match of the full content our databases (it's a work in progress, too, so we'll have more of our database content set up as the semester progresses) and it doesn't offer the same advanced features that databases do, it may help explore interdisciplinary gaps not covered well in single databases.
Getting the Full Text of Articles
To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:
- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.
- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.
To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.
Citing Your Sources
- For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.
- American Anthropological Association Style Guide
General guidelines, as well as reference examples. AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.
- Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style. For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:
- The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
Location: Online or search library catalog by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
- Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
- Chicago Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (Writing Center, University of Wisconsin--Madison)
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
Need Help with Your Research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian