This is the "Home" page of the "Cultivating Curiosity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cultivating Curiosity  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/curiosity Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works

      • Credo Reference
        An online collection of well-known reference books, available by library subscription.

      Scholarly Articles

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • America History & Life
        Available by library subscription.
      • ERIC
        Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
      • Google Scholar
        May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
      • JSTOR
        Archive (five year old and prior) of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
      • Philosopher's Index
        Available through library subscription. Standard journal database in philosophy.
      • PsycINFO
        Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Periodical literature: newspapers and magazines

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • Chronicle of Higher Education
        Available via Academic Search Complete.
      • LexisNexis Academic
        Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more, with coverage in the main from 1980 to present.

      Primary documents: press releases, interviews, college catalogs, speeches, etc.

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.

      Scholarly books

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

      Creating a bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

      For help in writing annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for a definition and examples of an annotated bibliography.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip