Finding Standards Information
This website provides a list of standards by topic: http://www.educationworld.com/standards/national/soc_sci/index.shtml
STANDARDS FOR ENGLISH AND LANGUAGE ARTS
National Council of Teachers of English
PA Standards (Pennsylvania Department of Education)
See English, Language Arts, Reading, Etc.
STANDARDS FOR FOREIGN LANGUAGES
National Standards for Foreign Language Education (American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Language)
PA Standards for World Languages (Pennsylvania Department of Education)
STANDARDS FOR MATH UNITS
Common Core Standards for Math
Principles and Standards for School Mathematics (National Council of Teachers of Math)
PA Standards for Math (Pennsylvania Department of Education)
STANDARDS FOR SCIENCE UNITS
National Science Education Standards (National Academy of Sciences)
PA Standards for Environment and Ecology (Pennsylvania Department of Education)
PA Standards for Science (Pennsylvania Department of Education)
STANDARDS FOR SOCIAL STUDIES UNITS
National Standards for History (National Center for History in the Schools)
National Standards for Social Studies (National Council of Social Studies)
Ask Dr. Wolfmeyer for a copy
National Standards for Civics and Government (Center for Civic Education)
National Geography Standards (National Geographic Society)
National Economic Standards – K-4 (National Council on Economic Education)
PA Standards (Pennsylvania Department of Education)
Your topic will likely be under History, Economics or Civics and Government
Finding Student Resources: Textbooks
Trexler Library owns a selection of student textbooks. It's likely best to browse the shelves in the Curriculum Lab. Alternately, to search for items in this collection, use the Library Catalog. The Library Catalog is accessible from the library homepage; choose the tab labeled Catalog. To limit your search results to just Curriculum Lab items, go to the Advanced Search screen. Add b8:Curriculum Lab in the first row; keep the drop-down at Keyword. Then add another word or words describing your subject area to the other row(s).
Finding Teacher Resources: Content
REFERENCE BOOKS: HANDBOOKS, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND MORE...
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for education. Full text is linked directly in the database.
BOOKS: USING ENCOMPASS SEARCH
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.
Finding Teacher Resources: Pedagogy
English / Language Arts
The Reading Teacher
Teaching Children Mathematics
Social Studies and the Young Learner
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Searching in ERIC should turn up articles from the journals listed above. You can search ERIC specifically for articles in those journals, but you're not restricted to only those journals. Instead, consider searching on your topic across all journals in ERIC. To narrow your search results to just classroom activity resources, consider two possible approaches. Neither is comprehensive, so it's likely best to try both.
- Add terms to your searches that describe classroom activities (e.g., "lesson plans" or "classroom activities" or "learning activities").
- Limit your searches by "publication type" in the search options (below the search boxes on the search screen). The following publication types may be relevant:
- Guides - Classroom - Learners -- Materials intended for direct instruction of the learner; materials presenting the substantive information that forms the content of instruction, e.g., instructional materials, readings, programmed texts, manuals, laboratory manuals, outlines, texts, workbooks, syllabi, study guides, orientation materials, textbooks, handbooks, exercises, learning modules, problems, resource guides.
- Guides - Classroom - Teacher -- Materials intended as guides for the teacher, e.g. curriculum guides, course outlines, units of study, lesson plans, teaching guides, leader guides, statements of behavioral objectives. May contain instructional materials, sample examinations, suggested learning activities, etc. Includes teaching tips, teaching techniques, "How to Teach" materials.
- Guides - General -- Materials designed for immediate and practical use by students, teachers, or administrative or support personnel. "General" is used only when material does not fit a more specific sub-category.
Finding Student Resources: Children's and Young Adult Books
Trexler Library owns a wide selection of children's and young adult books. These are located in the Juvenile Collection on level C of the library, close to the Curriculum Lab. To search for items in this collection, use Encompass Search or the Library Catalog.
- Encompass Search is accessible from the library homepage; choose the tab labeled Encompass Search. To limit your search results to just Juvenile Collection items, go to the Advanced Search screen. Add b8:Juvenile Collection in the first row; keep the drop-down at Keyword. Then add another word or words describing your subject area to the other row(s).
Finding Student Resources: Selected Magazines and Websites
ALL SUBJECT AREAS
- Academic Search Complete
An interdisciplinary database with scholarly and popular sources. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library. This will likely help you find newspaper and magazine articles appropriate for secondary, rather than elementary, students.
- Annenberg Learner
- Great Websites for Kids (American Library Association)
An interdisciplinary database with scholarly and popular sources. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library. Some children's interest magazines are included, such as:
ENGLISH AND LANGUAGE ARTS
- Discovery Education: Free Resources for Students
- Kids Discover (for student resources, see especially Infographics, Spotlights, and Quick Reads)
Need help with your research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian