Last Updated: Oct 2, 2015
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Arguably the most authoritative encyclopedia for the study of music. Available in Trexler Library, C level, call # 780.3 N532n. Sample page
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index to scholarly and popular literature in musicology, ethnomusicology, dance, and other music-related disciplines, with many links to full text.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.