This is the "Home" page of the "Documentary Research (Meek)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Documentary Research (Meek)  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/docresearch Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Scholarly and Popular Information: Books and Articles

>> To learn more about the differences between SCHOLARLY and POPULAR information, see What is Scholarly?.

>> Use the Subject Guides to find recommended resources in other subject areas. 

  • Academic Search Complete
    A database of both SCHOLARLY and POPULAR publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of SCHOLARLY and POPULAR information -- books, journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    A database of POPULAR newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
  • Omnifile
    A database of SCHOLARLY and POPULAR journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Statistics

Finding Images

Citing Your Sources

  • For information on APA Style, see:
    • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
      Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
    • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
      General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
    • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
      General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
  • Zotero
    "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
      

    Need Help with Your Research?

    Contact:

    Jen Jarson
    Social Sciences Reference Librarian
    phone: 484-664-3552
    email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip