This is the "Home" page of the "Documentary Research (Nathanson)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Documentary Research (Nathanson)  

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/docresearch2 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular (national) publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers (national and local), magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Mondo Times -- the Worldwide News Media Guide
Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.

The Morning Call
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.
NOTE: The library also has the most recent seven months of The Morning Call in paper, located in the Newspapers section on Level A.

If you would find it useful to search for scholarly journal articles on issues and concepts related to your topic, check the Subject Guides for recommendations on databases to search. 

      

    Finding Statistics: Selected Statistical Resources

    GENERAL DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION

    American Factfinder (U.S. Census) -- national and local
    http://factfinder2.census.gov/

    Fedstats -- national
    https://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/

    Lehigh Valley Research Consortium -- local
    http://lehighvalleyresearch.org/

    Pennsylvania County Data Book: Lehigh County -- local
    LOCATION: 317.48 P415L

    Pennsylvania County Data Book: Northampton County -- local
    LOCATION: 317.48 P415n

    Pennsylvania State Data Center -- state and local
    http://pasdc.hbg.psu.edu/

    SCHOOL INFORMATION

    Public School Search (National Center for Education Statistics)
    http://nces.ed.gov/ccd/schoolsearch/

    Private School Search (National Center for Education Statistics)
    http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pss/privateschoolsearch/

    NOTE: Check school, district, and state department websites, too.

        

      Finding Books

      You may find it useful to find books about Allentown, your particular place, and/or related issues and concepts.

      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan button to request a copy from another library.

      SELECTED BOOKS ABOUT ALLENTOWN

      Adams, A. (2000).  Hidden from history ; the Latino community of Allentown, Pennsylvania.  Allentown, PA: Lehigh County Historical Society.
      LOCATION: 974.827 A211h and Muhlenberg Room M A211h

      Allentown Bicentennial Committee.  (1962).  Allentown bicentennial, 1762-1962: Lehigh county sesquicentennial, 1812-1962.  Allentown, PA: s. n..
      LOCATION: 974.827 A4331a

      Bartholomew, A., & Front, C. M. (2002). Allentown. Charleston, SC: Arcadia.
      LOCATION: 974.827 B284a

      Bloom, K., & Wolbers, M.  (1984).  Allentown, a pictorial history. Virginia Beach, VA: Donning Co.
      LOCATION: 974.827 B655a

      Hellerich, M. H. (Ed.).  (1987).  Allentown 1762-1987: A 225-year history.  Allentown, PA: Lehigh County Historical Society.
      LOCATION: 974.827 A433se v.1-2

      Lehigh County Historical Society.  (1908-2004).  Proceedings of the Lehigh County Historical Society.  Allentown, PA: Author. 
      LOCATION: 974.827 L522p

      Storch, P. H.  (1950).  Allentown, 1950; Marking 200 years of growth. Allentown, PA: Printed by Miers-Bachman Lithographing Co.
      LOCATION: 917.4827 A4335

          

        Selected Websites

        GOVERNMENT AND LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS

        Allentown Economic Development Corporation
        http://www.allentownedc.com/

        Allentown, PA -- City's Official Site
        http://www.allentownpa.gov/

        Allentown, PA (Wikipedia)
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allentown,_Pennsylvania
        NOTE: The Landmarks and Popular Locations section may be of particular use in finding areas of interest.

        City and Town Official Sites
        http://www.citytown.info/Pennsylvania.htm

        Greater Lehigh Valley Chamber of Commerce
        http://www.lehighvalleychamber.org/

        Lehigh County -- Official Site
        http://www.lehighcounty.org/

        Lehigh County Assessment Record Search
        http://www.lehighcounty.org/Departments/Assessment/SearchRecords/tabid/315/Default.aspx

        Lehigh County Historical Society
        http://www.lchs.museum/

        Lehigh Valley Planning Commission
        http://www.lvpc.org/

        Northampton County
        http://www.northamptoncounty.org/

        Northampton County Public Access Website
        http://www.ncpub.org/Main/Home.aspx
        "This site provides read access to tax record information from Northampton County, Pennsylvania. To access this information, start by performing a search of the property records data."

        Pennyslvania -- Official Government Site
        http://www.pa.gov/

        Pennyslvania Association of Nonprofit Organizations
        http://www.pano.org/
        PANO is the statewide membership organization serving and advancing the charitable nonprofit sector through leadership, advocacy, education and services in order to improve the quality of life in Pennsylvania.

        Pennsylvania Visitor's Network
        http://www.pavisnet.com/

        State and Local Government on the Net
        http://www.statelocalgov.net/

            

          Finding Images

          See http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/publicdomain for tips on finding public domain and non-exclusively licensed images, in compliance with copyright restrictions. 

              

            Citing Your Sources

            • For information on APA Style, see:
              • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
                Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
              • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
                General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
              • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
                General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
            • Zotero
              "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
                

              Need help with your research?

              Contact:

              Jen Jarson
              Social Sciences Reference Librarian
              phone: 484-664-3552
              email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                  
                Description

                Loading  Loading...

                Tip