Last Updated: Feb 15, 2017
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Ref Collection 940.203 D515e
Paints with broad strokes movements and countries in this era. Each signed entry includes a substantial bibliography of recommended books and journal articles.
- The Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
Ref Collection 306.09403 E56o
Approaches European history through a sociological lens, with an eye for the middle and lower classes: major themes of family, religion, and health.
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
A subscription database. Includes extensive full text, scholarly. Intended as a deep archive. Excludes current five years.
- Project Muse
A subscription database. Includes extensive full text, scholarly.
- Google Scholar
An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for art history, with indexing and abstracts from early 1900s-present. Some full text.