Last Updated: Jan 15, 2015
- Google news
Aggregated news from worldwide sources
- LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
- Morning Call
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.
- New York Times
Complete access to New York Times via Muhlenberg subscription. All users must register while physically on campus, using their Muhlenberg email.
- WFMZ-TV 69 News
Local TV news station covering the Lehigh Valley as well as other parts of Eastern PA and Western NJ
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
Abstracts and some full-text of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences
- Encompass Search
To find only articles, use the Article limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Use the Peer-reviewed limit to narrow further to scholarly sources that have been peer-reviewed. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
- Google Scholar
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
- Science Direct, Health, Life, and Physical Sciences
A database of 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences from 1995 to the present.
Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.
This is a list of selected multi-purpose resources. For additional recommendations by topic, see the Finding Statistics and Data: Topical Sources guide.
- American Factfinder
A database from the U.S. Census Bureau with population, housing, and business statistics at the country, state, county, city, and zip code levels.
Links to official statistical information produced by the U.S. federal government. Browse by topic or agency or search across agency websites.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics from colonial times to modern day covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Full access available only to Muhlenberg faculty, students, and staff who create accounts using their Muhlenberg email addresses.
- Lehigh Valley Research Consortium
Collects quantitative and qualitative data on the Lehigh Valley on: demographics, public opinion , economic indicators, non-profit sector, governmental sector, and more.
- Pennsylvania State Data Center
Official source of demographic and economic data for Pennsylvania.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Current and archived editions (1995- ) are available online, as well. Old print editions (1886- ) are in the Trexler Library Government Documents section starting at C 3.134:886.