Finding Background Information
Finding News Information
Finding Legal and Government Information
NOTE: Relevant legal and government information may be findable through Google searching.
Environmental Law Research Guide: Federal Laws
This chart summarizes a few of the more important federal environmental laws.
Federal Agencies and Departments
Find Government Information (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
A list of resources to help you find U.S. and international government information.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell University)
Legal collections include: Federal law, Constitution, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court, Federal Rules, State law resources, State statutes by topic, and more.
See the Resources tab for links to federal, state, and international materials.
Law by source: Global
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.
U.S. legal information includes: federal and state cases; Supreme Court briefs; Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations; State Statutes, Codes & Regulations; and more. International legal information includes cases and legislation for Canada, EU, Commonwealth, and Other Nations.
Information from the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.
Finding Scholarly Articles
SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES
See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage -- Research -- Databases A-Z.
Check the Subject Guides (linked from the Library Homepage in the Research area ) for other recommended databases for this and other subject areas.
Environmental Studies / Sciences Databases
A database of both scholarly and general interest items focusing on the ways humans affect the environment. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of scholarly journals published by Elsevier in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search Encompass Search by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
Political Science / Policy Databases
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.
A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Getting the Full Text of Articles
To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:
- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.
- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
Selected Websites: Environmental Advocacy Groups
Citing Your Sources
- For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.
- For help using Chicago style, consult the following resources::
- The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
- Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
- Chicago Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (Writing Center, University of Wisconsin--Madison)
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
Need Help with Your Research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian