This is the "Home" page of the "Reading Fairy Tales" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reading Fairy Tales  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/fairytales Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Reference works

    • The Book of Symbols
      Archetypal meaning of many cultural icons. Available in Trexler Library RESERVES.
    • A Companion to the Fairy Tale
      Trexler Library RESERVES.
    • Dictionary of Symbolism
      Archetypal meaning of various cultural icons. Available in Trexler Library RESERVES.
    • Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
      Trexler Library RESERVES.

    More books on reserve for FYS 139

    • Breaking the Magic Spell
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. By Jack Zipes. Nice introduction the purpose and meaning of fairy tales. Deals with politics, history, fantasy, religion, and morals. Rats, wizards, fairies, ogres.
    • A Companion to the Fairy Tale
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Discusses the characteristics of the traditional fairy tale in Europe and North America.
    • Don't Bet on the Prince
      Trexler Library Reserves. Essays collected and edited by Jack Zipes. Feminist criticism.
    • The Fairy Tale as Art Form and Portrait of Man
      Trexler Library Reserves. Treats several tales and motifs.
    • From the Forest
      Trexler Library Reserves. Connects fairy tales with the forest and nature.
    • Grimm Legacies
      Trexler Library Reserves. By Jack Zipes. Treats varied tales and themes.
    • Grimms' Bad Girls and Bold Boys
      Trexler Library Reserves. Focus on gender.
    • The Hard Facts of Grimms' Fairy Tales
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Shows the dark side of fairy tales. Many themes and tales are discussed. Sex, violence, victims, seekers, nags, witches, ogres, etc.
    • The Irresistible Fairy Tale
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Jack Zipes. Varied tales and themes. Witches, women, death and regeneration, etc.
    • Once Upon a Time
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Themes: animals, beasts, brothers, children, witches, crones, dreams, fathers, mothers, etc.
    • One Fairy Tale Too Many
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Origin and development of the Grimm tales.
    • The Uses of Enchantment
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. By Bruno Bettelheim. Classic study. Psychoanalytic. Treats several tales and themes.
    • Ventures into Childland
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Theme of adults and children, and growing up.
    • When Dreams Came True
      Location: Trexler Library Reserves. Jack Zipes. Cultural and historical development of the fairy tale generally.

    How do I locate scholarly articles and books?

    • Academic Search Complete
      Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Google Books
      Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
    • Google Scholar
      May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
    • JSTOR
      Full text of scholarly journals from most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago. Current issues are often to be found in Project Muse (see below). Includes nearly 300 journals specific to language and literature, including American Literary History, American Quarterly, Chaucer Review, College Composition and Communication, College English, College Literature, Early American Literature, ELH, English Journal, New Literary History, Shakespeare Quarterly, Southern Literary Journal, and Yearbook of English Studies.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
    • Project MUSE
      A full-text database specializing in journals in the humanities. Often complements JSTOR with more current holdings. Full text journals include African American Review, American Literary History, American Literary Realism, American Literary Scholarship, American Literature, American Quarterly, American Speech, College Literature, Early American Literature, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, ELH, Journal of Narrative Theory, Modern Fiction Studies, Southern Literary Journal, Studies in American Fiction, and Studies in American Jewish Literature.
    • PsycINFO
      Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Citing sources

    For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

    For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

        

      Articles via interlibrary loan

      Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip