This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to Film Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to Film Analysis  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/filmanalysis Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Reference works

    • Films by Genre
      Reference 791.4375 L864f
    • International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
      Reference 791.4303 I61d

    How do locate artistic/genre context?

    • Communication and Mass Media Complete
      Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
      A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Google Scholar
      May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
    • WorldCat
      Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

    How about social and historical context?

    • America: History & Life with Full Text
      The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
    • Communication and Mass Media Complete
      Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
      A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Google Scholar
      May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
    • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
      Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
    • WorldCat
      Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

    How do I locate partisan reviews?

    • Academic Search Complete
      Popular reviews and some film criticism. 1980s-present. Some full text.
    • Film review index
      Humanities Ref. 016.79143 F487r
      Includes reviews of films made from 1882-1985.
    • Internet Movie Database
      A good place for filmography and maybe some reviews.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Good source for current reviews. 1980s-present. May include filmographies.

    Citing sources

    For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

    For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

        

      Articles via interlibrary loan

      Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip