Last Updated: Dec 1, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Scholarly film criticism. 1980s-present. Some full text.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library. Full text includes Cinema Journal, Film & History, Film Comment, Film Criticism, Film History, Film International, Film Journal International, Journal of Film and Video, and Journal of Popular Film and Television.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
- MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
A substantive archive of approximately 15 scholarly film studies journals, all full text. In most cases, the last 3-5 years are not included in the archive. Full text journals include Cinema Journal, Film History, Film Quarterly, and Journal of Film and Video,
- America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
- Academic Search Complete
Popular reviews and some film criticism. 1980s-present. Some full text.
- Film review index
Humanities Ref. 016.79143 F487r
Includes reviews of films made from 1882-1985.
- Internet Movie Database
A good place for filmography and maybe some reviews.
- LexisNexis Academic
Good source for current reviews. 1980s-present. May include filmographies.