This is the "Home" page of the "Film History II: 1945 to Present" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film History II: 1945 to Present  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/filmhistorytwo Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Where can I locate authoritative overviews of national cinema for the group project, ones that will also recommend resources for further research?

    • The Cinema Book
      Trexler Library Level C 791.43 C771 1999
    • Cinemas of the World
      Trexler Library level C 791.4309 C466c
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Encyclopedia of Chinese Film
      Trexler Library Level C 791.430951
    • International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
      Reference 791.4303 I61d
    • Oxford History of World Cinema
      Trexler Library Level C 791.4309 N948o
    • A Short History of the Movies
      Trexler Library Level C 791.4309 M432s

    How do I locate scholarly works on national films, especially for the focused individual project?

    • Art Full Text
      Subscription database. Includes scholarly film journals.
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete
      Subscription database. Scholarly film criticism. 1980s-present. Some full text.
    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • Film Bibliographies: UC Berkeley
      ***RECOMMENDED***
      To acquire full text of the titles you see here, use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.

    How do I find DVDs and streaming video via the library website?

    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • New World Cinema
      Includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Students of cinema will find titles by many of the leading contemporary directors of world cinema, such as Andrei Zvyagintsev, Koji Wakamatsu, Wong Kar-Wai and Jean-Luc Godard, illustrating a wide range of cinematographic techniques. The narratives provide a rich window onto cultures and sociological issues from around the world.

    Citing sources

    For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

    For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

        

      Articles via interlibrary loan

      Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip