This is the "Home" page of the "Gender, Politics & Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gender, Politics & Policy  

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/genderpol Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Background Information

SELECTED REFERENCE SOURCES

The following is only a small selection of available reference materials. Search the library catalog for more reference sources, browse the reference collection on level A of the library, or ask for help.

The American Woman
Location: 305.40973 A512wo-woman

Book of the States
Location: 353.9 B724

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a collection of hundreds of reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, companions and more--all online, all searchable from one search box.
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title

Notable titles in Credo Reference specific to gender, politics, and policy:

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
Online Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Print Location: 305.403 E56o v.1-2

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
Online Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Print Location: 303.48403 R221e v.1-2

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
Location: 305.4203 G816e v.1-6

Martindale-Hubbell Law Digest
Location: 348.026 M385L

Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia
Location: 305.3103 K49m v.1-2

Sexuality and the Law: An Encyclopedia of Major Legal Cases
Location: 346.730313 L581s

West's Encyclopedia of American Law (2nd ed.)
Online Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Print Location: 349.7303 W538e v.1-12

SELECTED WEBSITES

Center for American Women and Politics (Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey)
http://www.cawp.rutgers.edu/

Center for Women in Government & Civil Society (University at Albany, SUNY)
http://www.albany.edu/womeningov/

Women and Politics Research Section (American Political Science Association)
http://www.apsanet.org/~wpol/index.htm

Women in Politics (International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance)
http://www.idea.int/gender/

NEWS SOURCES

LexisNexis Academic
Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.
GETTING THERE: Library Homepage  --  Research -- Databases A to Z

      

    Finding Secondary Sources: Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Finding Secondary Sources: Journal Articles

      SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

      See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage  --  Research -- Databases A-Z 

      Use UlrichsWeb Periodicals Directory to find out information about individual journals, including whether or not they are peer-reviewed.

      Subject-Specific Databases: Political Science & International Relations

      PAIS
      Citations from 1972 to the present from scholarly journals, gray literature, government publications, and more from 120 countries on political, economic, social and public policy issues.

      Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
      Indexes international serials literature in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

      Check the Subject Guides (linked from the Library Homepage in the Research box) for other recommended databases for this and other subject areas.

      Interdisciplinary Databases

      Academic Search Complete
      Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

      ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
      Indexes journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more.

      JSTOR
      Full text of scholarly journals from most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

      OmniFile
      A database with some full text articles covering various academic subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business.

      Sage Journals Online
      Full-text access to over 500 journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage of scholarly publications in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences.

          
         

        Getting the Full Text of Articles

        To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

        - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

        - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        Finding Primary Sources: Government Documents

        U.S. Government

        Encompass Search
        http://trexler.muhlenberg.edu/
        Muhlenberg College receives about 30% of all materials published by the U.S. Federal Government. These items cover a wide range of subject areas--from legal materials and the records of Congress to health and education information and in-depth research conducted by the Smithsonian.

        United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A Comprehensive Bibliography
        Location: 016.3054 H917u v.1-2

        LexisNexis Academic
        GETTING THERE : Library homepage -- Research -- Databases A to Z  -- LexisNexis Academic
        Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.
        NOTE: Use the US Legal section on the left sidebar.

        ProQuest Congressional
        GETTING THERE: Library homepage -- Research -- Databases A to Z -- ProQuest Congressional
        Information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.  (Previously known as LexisNexis Congressional.)

        U.S. Code (Cornell)
        http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/
        Easy access to the U.S. Code, the federal law of the United States.  Provided by the Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School.

        Other Nations

        Governments on the World Wide Web
        http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/

        Legal Information Institute, Law by Source: Global (Cornell University)
        http://www.law.cornell.edu/world/
        The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.

        WashLaw Web: Foreign and International Law (Washburn University School of Law Library)
        http://www.washlaw.edu/forint/index.html
        This site provides a tremendous number of links as well as access to foreign and international legal resources and research tools. It's especially strong on finding legal materials from specific countries (i.e. Nigerian law).

        World Legal Information Institute
        http://www.worldlii.org/catalog/215.html
        Organized by country and then by subject.

            

          Finding Primary Sources: News

          See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage  --  Research --  Databases A-Z 

          For news from the late 1980s / early 1990s to the present...

          Academic Search Complete
          Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

          LexisNexis Academic
          Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.

          OmniFile
          A database with some full text articles covering various academic subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business.

          For news pre late 1980s / early 1990s...

          Readers' Guide Retrospective
          Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.

              

            Finding Primary Sources: Statistical Information

            The following is only a small selection of available data sources. Ask for help if you need assistance in locating sources.

            Women's Changing Roles (2002)
            Location: 305.420973 A393w

            Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor
            http://www.bls.gov/

            Fedstats: The Gateway to Statistics from Over 100 U.S. Federal Agencies
            http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/

            Historical Statistics of the United States (online)
            Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title

            ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
            Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title

            International Statistical Agencies (U.S. Census Bureau)
            http://www.census.gov/aboutus/stat_int.html

            LexisNexis Statistical Insight
            Location: Online or available via Trexler Library homepage -- Online Reference Shelf (in the Quick Links box).
            Statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations.

            OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web (University of Auckland)
            http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subjects/stats/offstats/

            Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: U.S. Census Bureau, 1886- .
            Online Location: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
            Print Location: Trexler Library Government Documents C 3.134:886- (Level A)

            US Census
            http://www.census.gov/

            American Factfinder
            http://factfinder.census.gov/

            Census Bureau, Women in the United States
            http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/women.html

            United Nations
            http://un.org/

            UN Data
            http://data.un.org/

                

              Writing an Annotated Bibliography

              For help writing your annotated bibliography, consult the following resources:

              Annotated Bibliographies (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
              http://www.unc.edu/depts/wcweb/handouts/annotated_bibliographies.html

              Writing Annotated Bibliographies (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
              http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/content.php?pid=471100&sid=5215028

                  

                Citing Your Sources

                • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
                  Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
                • Zotero
                  "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
                    

                  Need Help with Your Research?

                  Contact:

                  Jen Jarson
                  Social Sciences Reference Librarian
                  phone: 484-664-3552
                  email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                      
                    Description

                    Loading  Loading...

                    Tip