This is the "Home" page of the "Gender, Sensation and the Novel" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gender, Sensation and the Novel  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/gendersensation Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works (good for getting recommendations of sources, including primary sources)

      • Credo Reference
        A subscription reference database including many well-known and respected reference works published ABC-CLIO, Routledge, and others.
      • Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
        Trexler Library Level B call # 704.903 R644e
        Guide to world art by subject.
      • Encyclopedia of European Social History 1350-2000
        Trexler Library Level B call # 306.09403 E56o
        Contains scholarly introductory essays and bibliographies on gender, family, sexuality, body and mind, work, social structure, social protest, deviance and crime, social reform.
      • World Painting Index
        Trexler Library Level B call # 750.16 H388w
        Paintings indexed by subject.

      Primary works (historical artifacts) as published in books

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Contains full text of many out-of-copyright books, including thousands from 19th century England that would be considered historical artifacts (primary documents). Includes Punch magazine.
      • Project Gutenberg
        Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
      • WorldCat
        Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.

      More primary sources (historical artifacts)

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.
      • Internet Library of Early Journals
        Contains searchable full text of three 19th-century British popular periodicals.
      • Times Digital Archive
        Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

      Secondary research published in journals and books (referencing primary works)

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Scholar
        An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
      • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
        Index to historical literature for all regions excluding the U.S. and Canada, 1450-present. Numerous links to full text.
      • JSTOR
        A subscription database. Archive of major scholarly journals across the disciplines.
      • MLA International Bibliography
        Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.

      Citing sources

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip