This is the "Home" page of the "Globalization & Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Globalization & Marketing  

Last Updated: Jan 24, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/globalmktg Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Outreach and Scholarly
Communication Librarian,
Humanities & Business
Subject Specialist

phone: 484-664-3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

A.T.

Cultural Analysis

  • CIA World Factbook
    Free resource. Gives basic demographics of a country, plus overview of political system. Most recent year only.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Eastern & Southern Africa
    The former of these two regions, the eastern part, is made up of the following countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, and South Sudan (all of the Horn area and inland), along with, below the Horn, Burundi, Comoros, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, and Uganda. Some models shift the southeastern nations of Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, and Seychelles to the southern region of Africa, but here we include them under Eastern Africa. In Southern Africa, therefore, we have Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. All told, 23 nations are examined in this volume.
  • Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Western & Central Africa
    The first of these two regions, the western part, is made up of the following 16 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo. The second region, Central Africa, consists of the following 9 countries: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé & Príncipe. All told, then, 25 nations are examined in this volume.
  • Culture and Customs of Cameroon
  • Culture and Customs of Namibia
  • Culture and Customs of Nigeria
  • Culture and Customs of Zambia
  • Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East : An Encyclopedia
    Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East contains encyclopedic entries arranged alphabetically within ethno-linguistic classifications. Each entry has four main sections: an introduction identifying the language group, where they are found, and their numbers; a brief discussion of their origins and early history; a section on cultural life that includes religion, literature, social organization, and art; and a final section on political organization and recent history.
  • Europa World Yearbook
    Demographics including health, welfare, and education.
  • Passport Reference via Euromonitor
    Available through library subscription. See especially the "Consumer Lifestyle Reports" containing demographics.
  • World Bank
    Many demographic statistics, especially regarding wealth distribution. Choose the Data by Indicators, then click on the desired topic to get a complete list of countries. Time series.
  • World Trade Press: Cameroon
  • World Trade Press: Lesotho
  • World Trade Press: Nigeria
  • World Trade Press: Tanzania
  • World Trade Press: Zambia
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
    Provides information on the cultures of the world, covering different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language and religion.

Economic Analysis and Trade

  • BTI Transformation Index
    The Bertelsmann Stiftung’s Transformation Index (BTI) analyzes and evaluates the quality of democracy, a market economy and political management in 129 developing and transition countries.
  • CIA World Factbook
    Free resource. Basic economic data such as GNP.
  • Country Commercial Guides
    Look no further than the U.S. Commercial Service’s Country Commercial Guides, written by U.S. Embassy trade experts worldwide….. An excellent starting point for everything you need to know about exporting and doing business overseas detailing 8 important weigh stations on your export journey.
  • Cameroon Country Commercial Guide
  • Europa World Yearbook
    Transportation systems, communication and media. Includes an "Economic Affairs" report with GNP percentage by industry.
  • National Statistical Offices
    A directory of statistical offices of countries around the globe.
  • Passport Reference via Euromonitor
    Available by library subscription. The "Consumer Lifestyles Reports" contain data and text on labor, income, population, media and communication systems, transportation, and distribution channels.
  • U.S.State Department Background Notes
    Free resource. Current analysis of economy and politics.
  • World Bank
    Free resource. Good for media and communication, internet use, science and technology, etc.

Market Audit and Competitive Analysis

  • Business Source Complete
    Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals. May include reports about consumers, target markets, etc.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Hundreds of news sources, arr. by region and country. May include reports about consumers, etc.
  • Passport Reference via Euromonitor
    Available by library subscription. The Consumer Lifestyles Reports contains hard-to-find data on consumer buying habits and lifestyles. If a Consumer Lifestyles Report is not available for your country, there may be other reports that give clues about consumer behavior in your country.
  • U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library
    Free resource. See U.S. Dept. of Commerce's "Country Commercial Guides" and other country-specific economic reports.

Citing Sources

  • Trexler Library Citation Guides
    Brief, easy-to-use guides to the 3 most used citation styles: APA, Chicago (Turabian), MLA.
  • Zotero
    Free citation tool. Does the citing for you! Loved by librarians, professors, and students alike.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip