This is the "Home" page of the "Global Pop" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Global Pop  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/globalpop Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article, click on the Check for Full Text buttons from within any database, or visit Trexler Library website and search in Encompass on the journal title to determine if itl is available full text through our library.

        

      How do I find scholarly introductions to organology?

      • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians ***RECOMMENDED***
        (Trexler Library, level A, Reference, call # 780.3 N532n)
        Signed entries by experts. Authoritative source of information on musical instruments.
          

        How do I locate images from Michael Praetorius' Syntagma Musicum

        • Wikimedia Commons
          These images are in the public domain, and can be used for any purpose without concern over copyright, though as a courtesy credit should always be given to the source.

        How do I find scholarly books on my subject?

        • WorldCat
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.

        How do I locate peer-reviewed journal articles?

        • Academic Search Complete
          A good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
        • JSTOR
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Includes extensive full text, all from scholarly periodicals.
        • Google Scholar
          An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Not always full text. Check our library's online catalog (see above) to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text of a journal.
        • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Scholarly articles on many aspects of gender and music.
        • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
          World history database. Good for European history and culture back to 1492.

        How do I cite sources in a bibliography?

        For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

        For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

            

          Articles via interlibrary loan

          Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip