Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Available through library subscription. Contains several hundred academic-audience reference works.
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Available in print copy in Trexler Library, call # 391.003 E56o, level B.
- Fashion, Costume, and Culture
Available by library subscription. Lengthy entries on fashion grouped by era (1960s, etc.).
- Oxford Art Online
An expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Available by library subscription. Many entries on fashion, in the context of pop culture.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
- Academic Search Complete
A library subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
A library subscription database. Standard index for North American history. Some full text.
- Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
- Business Source Complete
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics. Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, click on the Company Profiles tab at the top of Business Source Complete.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
A library subscription database. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
- MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.
For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.