This is the "Home" page of the "African Government and Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Government and Politics  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/govtpoliticsafrica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Background Information and Developing Topic Ideas: Selected Reference Materials

REFERENCE BOOKS AND WEBSITES

Almanac of African Peoples and Nations
Location: Trexler Library 305.8096 Y15a

CIA World Factbook
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Credo Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for political science. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title

Encyclopedia of Africa
Location: Trexler Library 960.03 E56o

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
Location: Trexler Library 967.003 E56o v.1-4

Encyclopedia of African History
Location (Online): Online or search Encompass Search by title
Location (Print): Trexler Library 960.03 56o v.1-3

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Location: Trexler Library 956.003 E56o v.1-4

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
Location: Trexler Library 960.3103 E56o

Europa World Year Book
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Note: Previous editions (1966- ) in print at 341.1 E89

Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa
Location: Trexler Library 960 A752h

Political Handbook of the World
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title
Note: Earlier editions (1928-) in print at 329 P769

GATEWAY SITES

World Legal Information Institute: Countries
http://www.worldlii.org/countries.html

World Legal Materials from Africa (Cornell University Law School)
http://www.law.cornell.edu/world/africa.html

SELECTED ORGANIZATIONS

African Union
http://www.au.int/en/

COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
http://www.comesa.int/

ECCAS: Economic Community of Central African States
http://www.ceeac-eccas.org/index.php?lang=en&pageId=0 (English)

ECOWAS: Economic Community Of West African States
http://www.ecowas.int/

IGAD: Intergovernmental Authority on Development
http://www.igad.org/

International Monetary Fund: Country Information
http://www.imf.org/external/country/index.htm

SADC: Southern African Development Community
http://www.sadc.int/

United Nations
http://www.un.org/english/

Office of the Special Advisor on Africa (UN)
http://www.un.org/africa/osaa/

Economic Commission for Africa (UN)
http://www.uneca.org/

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/

U.S. Department of State: Bureau of African Affairs
http://www.state.gov/p/af/index.htm

U.S. Department of State: Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs
http://www.state.gov/p/nea/index.htm

U.S. Department of State: Bilateral Fact Sheets
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

World Bank: Sub-Saharan Africa
http://www.worldbank.org/afr/

World Bank: Middle East & North Africa
http://www.worldbank.org/mena

World Trade Organization
http://www.wto.org/

NEWS

BBC News
http://www.bbc.com/

BBC News: Africa
http://www.bbc.com/news/world/africa/

LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Mondo Times -- the Worldwide News Media Guide
Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.

      

    Finding Articles: Databases & Indexes

    Political Science and International Relations Databases

    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    PAIS International
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Interdisciplinary and News Databases

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    LexisNexis Academic
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    Omnifile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        
       

      Getting the Full Text of Articles

      To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

      - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

      - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      Finding Books

      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

      To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

          

        Finding Government Documents

        UNITED STATES

        Muhlenberg College receives about 30% of all materials published by the U.S. Federal Government. These items cover a wide range of subject areas--from legal materials and the records of Congress to health and education information and in-depth research conducted by the Smithsonian. All of the government documents that we receive have records in Encompass Search.

        INTERNATIONAL GOVERNMENTS

        Governments on the World Wide Web
        http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/

        World Legal Information Institute: Countries
        http://www.worldlii.org/catalog/215.html

            

          Finding Data and Statistics

          This is a list of selected multi-purpose resources.  For additional recommendations by topic, see the Finding Statistics and Data: Topical Sources guide. 

          • International Historical Statistics, 1750-2000
            Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 310 M681i v.1-3 (Level B)
            Key economic and social indicators for 1750-2000.
          • CIA World Factbook
            Information, including statistics, on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for hundreds of world entities.
          • Europa World Year Book
            Brief statistics by country on a variety of topics, including: area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, education, and more.
          • Human Development Reports (United Nations Development Programme)
          • International Statistical Agencies
            Links to international statistical agencies. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
          • OFFSTATS
            Links to free official, international statistics resources by country, region, and subject.
          • U.N. Data
            Search across the United Nation's statistical databases.
          • United Nations Statistical Yearbook
            "Annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations."
          • World Bank Data
            Statistics for countries around the world on a wide variety of topics, including education-related topics. From the World Bank.

          Citing Your Sources

          For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

          For help using Chicago style, consult the following resources:

          • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
            Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

          For help with Zotero, a "free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources," see https://www.zotero.org/.

              

            Need Help with Your Research?

            Contact:

            Jen Jarson
            Social Sciences Reference Librarian
            phone: 484-664-3552
            email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip