This is the "Home" page of the "Government & Politics of the Middle East" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government & Politics of the Middle East  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/govtpoliticsmiddleeast Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

REFERENCE BOOKS AND WEBSITES

CIA World Factbook
Online Location: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Fact sheets by country.

Credo Reference
Online Location: http://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com 
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for political science. Full text is linked directly in the database.

The Europa World Year Book
Online Location: http://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.europaworld.com/
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: contemporary political history, constitution and government, economic affairs, and more.

Political Handbook of the World
Online Location: http://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/phw/
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: government and politics, constitution, foreign affairs, political and opposition parties, and more.

US Department of State: Background Notes
Online Location: http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn
Fact sheets from the Department of State that focus on U.S. relations with each country.

Trexler Library may also have reference works more specifically related to your particular topic. To find them, search Encompass Search or ask for help.

LIBRARY NEWS DATABASES

LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Access: Library Homepage -- Databases A to Z -- LexisNexis Academic

SELECTED WEBSITES

GENERAL

UN News Centre: Middle East
http://www.un.org/apps/news/infocusRel.asp?infocusID=70&Body=Palestin&Body1=

US Department of State: Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs
http://www.state.gov/p/nea/

IGOs

Search Engine -- Government Information: International Documents (Indiana University, Bloomington)
http://www.libraries.iub.edu/index.php?pageId=4173

***

International Monetary Fund
http://www.imf.org/

United Nations
http://www.un.org/

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/

World Bank: Middle East & North Africa
http://www.worldbank.org/mena

ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS AND THINKTANKS

Brookings Institution
http://www.brookings.edu/

Cato Institute
http://www.cato.org/

Center for Middle East Peace and Economic Cooperation
http://www.centerpeace.org/

Middle East Institute (Columbia University)
http://sipa.columbia.edu/REGIONAL/MEI/index.shtml

Middle East Policy Council
http://www.mepc.org/main/main.asp

Washington Institute for Near East Policy
http://www.washingtoninstitute.org/

      

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Finding Articles: Databases & Indexes

      Political Science and International Relations Databases

      Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
      A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      PAIS International
      Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
      Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Interdisciplinary and News Databases

      Academic Search Complete
      A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      LexisNexis Academic
      A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      Omnifile
      A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

          
         

        Getting the Full Text of Articles

        To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

        - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

        - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        Government Documents

        UNITED STATES

        Muhlenberg College receives about 30% of all materials published by the U.S. Federal Government. These items cover a wide range of subject areas--from legal materials and the records of Congress to health and education information and in-depth research conducted by the Smithsonian. All of the government documents that we receive have records in Encompass Search.

        OTHER GOVERNMENTS

        Governments on the World Wide Web
        http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/

        World Legal Information Institute: Countries
        http://www.worldlii.org/catalog/215.html

            

          Citing Your Sources

          For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

          For help using Chicago style, consult the following resources:

          • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
            Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

          For help with Zotero, a "free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources," see https://www.zotero.org/.

              

            Need Help with Your Research?

            Contact:

            Jen Jarson
            Social Sciences Reference Librarian
            phone: 484-664-3552
            email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip