This is the "Home" page of the "History of Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of Psychology  

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/historyofpsychology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Muhlenberg History

COLLEGE PUBLICATIONS

Alumni magazine
Location: Muhlenberg Collection T M952a
1930-38: Muhlenberg College Alumni Quarterly
1938-54: Muhlenberg College Alumni Magazine
1955-71: Muhlenberg College News
1966-77: Muhlenberg Alumni News
1972-90: Muhlenberg
1990-96: Muhlenberg Door to Door
1989-current: Muhlenberg Magazine (1980-2008 bound; 2008-current unbound)

Ciarla (yearbook)
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952c or Muhlenberg Collection Q M952c

Muhlenberg College Catalog
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952 or Muhlenberg Collection J M952c

Muhlenberg Weekly (student newspaper)
Location: Main Collection 371.897m2 (currently on level C, alphabetical by title) or Muhlenberg Collection Q M952w

Vertical File
Location: Muhlenberg Collection
Psychology department newsletters and ephemera

COLLEGE HISTORIES

A History of Muhlenberg College, 1848-1967 (Swain)
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952hi, 1967 or Muhlenberg Collection E H673m 1967

A History of Muhlenberg College, 1916-1962: A Monograph on the Relations of the Ministeriun of Pennsylvania to its Institutions of Higher Education During the Years 1916-1962 (Richards)
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952hist or Muhlenberg Collection E H673m 1965

An Informal History of Muhlenberg College: Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Tell Their Stories, 1931-2006
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952j or Muhlenberg Collection E J35i
Collection of personal stories of people closly associated with Muhlenberg College over an extensive period of time. Includes interviews with alumni from 1928 though 1987, plus members of the faculty, Board of Trustees and administration who are long affiliated with the college. These stories represent selective, interpretive records of the interviews actually conducted by students, rather than a strict transcription of the interviews themselves

Muhlenberg College. A Quarter-centennial Memorial Volume, Being a History of the College and a Record of Its Men (Ochsenford)
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952hi, 1892 or Muhlenberg Collection E H673m 1892

Muhlenberg College: History of One Hundred Years, 1848-1948 (Horn)
Location: Main Collection 378.748 M952his or Muhlenberg Collection E H673m 1948

The Muhlenberg Story: History of an American College (Secor)
Location: Main Collection 378.748 S445m or Muhlenberg Collection E M673s 2011 or Muhlenberg Room M S445m

*To use items noted as located in the Muhlenberg Collection, contact Diane Koch, Special Collections & Archives Librarian

      

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books and scholarly journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.

    • Encompass Search
      To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan button to request a copy from another library.

    Finding Articles

    • America: History and Life
      A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more in U.S. and Canadian history. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
    • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
      A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more for world history (excluding U.S. and Canada). Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
    • JSTOR
      A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.
    • PsycINFO
      Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
     

    Getting the Full Text of Articles

    To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

    - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

    - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

    - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

    Finding Dissertations

    Dissertation Abstracts Online
    Selectively covers masters theses and dissertations from North America and Europe 1861-present.

        

      Citing Your Sources

      • For information on APA Style, see:
        • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
          Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
        • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
          General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
          General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
      • Zotero
        "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
          

        Need Help with Your Research?

        Contact:

        Jen Jarson
        Social Sciences Reference Librarian
        phone: 484-664-3552
        email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip