Selected Reference Materials
Aust, Anthony. Handbook of International Law. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access (NOTE: Only one user allowed at a time.)
The 2005 edition is also available in print at 341 A932h.
Bishop, William. International Law: Cases and Materials, 3rd ed. Boston, MA: Little, Brown, 1971.
Location: Trexler Library 341 B622i
Damrosch, Lori Fisler, et al. Basic Documents Supplement to International Law, Cases and Materials, 4th ed. St. Paul, MN: West Group, 2001.
Location: Trexler Library 341.026 I61L, 2002, Suppl.
Damrosch, Lori Fisler, et al. International Law: Cases and Materials, 4th ed. St. Paul, MN: West Group, 2001.
Location: Trexler Library 341.026 I61L, 2001
Fox, James R. Dictionary of International and Comparative Law, 3rd ed. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications, 2003.
Location: Trexler Library 341.03 F791d 2003
Grant, John P. and J. Craig Barker, ed. Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access
Harper, F.J., ed. Treaties and Alliances of the World, 7th ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 2002.
Location: Trexler Library 341.2 T484a
Kritzer, Herbert M., ed. Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
Location: Trexler Library 340.03 K92L v.1-4
Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest. New Providence, NJ: Martindale-Hubbell, 2005.
Location: Trexler Library 341.026 M385i
Martindale-Hubbell Law Digest on CD-ROM. New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell, 2008.
Location: Trexler Library Reference CD-ROMs 348.026 M385L (ask at Reference Desk)
Osmanczyk, Edmund Jan. Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, 3rd ed. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Location: Trexler Library 341.2303 O83e v.1-4
Reimann, Mathias, and Reinhard Zimmerman, eds. The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Law. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Location: Trexler Library 340.2 O98h
Slomanson, William R. Fundamental Perspectives on International Law, 3rd ed. Australia; United States: West/Thomson Learning, 2000.
Location: Trexler Library 341 S634f
Smits, Jan M., ed. Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Pub., 2006.
Location: Trexler Library 340.203 E41e
von Glahn, Gerhard. Law Among Nations: An Introduction to Public International Law, 7th ed. Boston, MA: Allyn and Bacon, 1996.
Location: Trexler Library 341 V946L
Selected Websites and Databases for Legal Information
Specific Courts and Legislative Bodies
Foreign Affairs Online--International Law--Courts
Links to ICJ, European Court of Human Rights, National Courts (Non-US), and US Federal Courts.
European Union Law
International Court of Justice
Includes U.S. federal and state cases, Canadian cases and legislation, EU Commonwealth, and other nations
United Nations: International Law
Treaties and Other Documents
Amnesty International Library (Online Documentation Archive)
Avalon Project (Yale University)
Project Diana: Online Human Rights Archive
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
United Nations Treaty Collection
International and Foreign Law Community (LexisNexis)
ISN: International Relations and Security Network
Legal Information Institute, Law by Source: Global (Cornell University)
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.
Research Guides (Duke University School of Law Library)
Covers Federal and International Law. Comprehensive coverage.
WashLaw Web: Foreign and International Law (Washburn University School of Law Library)
This site provides a tremendous number of links as well as access to foreign and international legal resources and research tools. It's especially strong on finding legal materials from specific countries (i.e. Nigerian law).
World Legal Information Institute
Access to worldwide law.
Legal and International Relations Databases
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database. Get help with search connectors and commands.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database. NOTE: Narrow to law journals only via the Advanced Search page.
A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Getting the Full Text of Articles
To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:
- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.
- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
Trexler Library receives approximately 30% of the materials published by the United States government. These are cataloged and can be found by searching the Encompass Search. The following are a few titles that might be particularly useful:
Cumulative Digest of United States Practice in International Law. Washington, DC: Office of the Legal Adviser, Dept. of State, 1993-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12/3:981-88/BK.1-3 (Level A)
Digest of United States Practice in International Law. Washington, D.C. : Office of the Legal Adviser, Dept. of State, 1974-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12/3: (Level A)
Library owns 1973-1980
Hackworth, Green Haywood. Digest of International Law. Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 1940-1944.
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12:943/ (Level A)
Library owns v.1-8
Treaties in Force: A List of Treaties and other International Acts of the United States in Force on .... Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1944-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 9.14: (Level A)
Library owns 1956-present
Issues Online: Search Encompass Search by title
United States. United States Treaties and other International Agreements. Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State, 1952-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 9.12:1 (Level A)
Library owns v.1-
United States. Treaties and other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 compiled under the direction of Charles I. Bevans. Washington: Dept. of State, 1968-76.
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 9.12/2: (Level A)
Library owns v.1-13
Whiteman, Marjorie M. Digest of International Law. Washington, U.S. Dept. of State, 1963-73.
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12/2: (Level A)
Library owns v.1-10
Citing Your Sources
For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.
- What you should do to avoid plagiarism
For help using Chicago style, consult the following resources:
- The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
- Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (Writing Center, University of Wisconsin--Madison)
For help with Zotero, a "free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources," see https://www.zotero.org/.
Need Help with Your Research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian